Bon voyage everyone, I am packing for a trip to sunny Santorini.

Santorini
This is my second trip to the Greek island of Santorini. It’s one of my favourite places on the planet, in fact in some of my wildest moments I occasionally make plans to live there- permanently! And then reality raises its ugly head…

If you have been to Santorini – any tips would be welcome. If not, do put that on your bucket list, its like no place on Earth. Whatever I say about it and whatever digital images you may see, nothing can possibly prepare you for actually being there. The world in Santorini is a lovely shade of blue. It’s like a visit to another planet.

Santorini is a hilly destination, involving a lot of walking and spectacular views. A wheelie suitcase, won’t do, if you have to climb a thousand steps. Sturdy shoes and light hand held luggage needs to be perfected. ( though that’s true in many of the smaller Greek islands).

Some say that Santorini, is the original Kythera, (as mentioned in Homers Odyssey, not the Simpsons Homer…) In any case the place is quite literary swimming in history and is enough to bring out our inner archaeologist.

We are flying easy jet, (I never thought I’d stoop to that, but it’s the easiest and least expensive way to go) luggage is minimal, and nothing beats the longchamp for lightness.. The photo shows the summer collection, though sadly now gone from the shops. (Still kicking myself for missing out on the lovely pinky pink, such a fresh shade.) Anyway, I digress, but it’s coat shopping season now, because fashion people are crazy. So if you want to be prepared for winter, now it’s the best time to shop for a coat and find the cream of the crop.

I suspect the LSH will hide my iPad to put an end to my attempts to go on line. Have no fear, my friend Rosy will be manning the fort and I already have a couple of scheduled posts as promised. Up coming posts include: ‘Burberry trench vs aquascutum’, “quintessential cream afternoon tea with strawberries” , and “how to survive Brexit”, are just some delights in store for you. Rosy has promised to spell check and grammar proof so they make sense…so it’s Rosie vs autocorrect..

As much as We love London living, every now and then one simply MUST get away.

Longchamp pinky pink top right hand side. Sadly I left it too late and now they are all gone from the shops.

This divine shade of blue, part of the seasonal collection, will be just the thing for sunny santorini.

 

… and of course the perfect basket bag. I pack this within my longchamp.

I am packing for a trip to sunny Santorini, right as we speak. This was a last minute plan, but the LSH (long suffering husband) decided we needed to go.

Packing cubes will make last minute packing a breeze…

Bon voyage to me and to you if you are going away. Enjoy the summer!

I had my eye on one of these Monogram beauty cases, for a while. Not for actually travelling offourse, it would be too heavy and cumbersome. Utterly ridiculous in fact. However, It would look divine, posing near my dressing area …

5 thoughts on “Bon voyage & accoutrements

  1. Antonia

    Soooo jealous you’re going to Santorini!! I’m Greek and I’ve never been! 😦 I see the pictures and it really does look like another planet. Have you been to Mykonos? Is that similar? Anyway, I hope you have a fabulous trip!!

    Reply
  2. dottoressa

    Have a wonderful vacation! Enjoy every minute!
    I have been to Greece (Athens,Mycenae,Pelopoponnese,Epidaurus….)really beautiful,but haven’t visited the islands-it must be magical on Santorini!
    I was thinking about packing cubes….please,write a post about packing after your holidays!
    Baby blue Longchamp would be even better for Santorini
    Dottoressa

    Reply
  3. Pret a Porter P

    I’ve bought Longchamps as gifts, and know that they are quite popular…but I just…can’t…justify it for myself. Something about the brown handles I don’t care for, and the Planetes…now called Neo Pliages…?? I still can’t…they are nice yes, but nothing I get excited about, and they have a pretty useless inside pocket. If I’m going nylon tote I prefer my LeSportsac-sturdy and practical.

    Enjoy your trip!

    Reply
  4. silkpathdiary

    Bon voyage! It’s on my list of places to visit – enjoy! I bought my teen girl the small shoulder bag version and think it looks really good on her and practical. For myself I don’t feel comfortable using one as a handbag and just stick to the large size for travel/weekends away that’s all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

