Due to hectic lifestyle, my beauty routine is cut down to nothing.

Skimming off the fat of the land as they say. I’ve also been in bed with the mother of all migraines, incapable of movement or rational thought.

The migraine triggers
The migraine crept up on me – it was one of those London busy days, catching London cabs, fighting the Borgias, writing angry emails, answering angry emails –  you get the general idea. In addition to that, I ate some junk and had a couple of glasses of wine. The rest is history as one might say- a migraine that no drug known to science could manage to shift. I felt nauseous and utterly defeated. When this happens all I can really do is stay very still, in a dark room waiting for it to subside. LSH (long suffering husband) was on a business trip – he gets very worried the poor darling and other people’s worry just makes my own worry increase and migraine gets the upper hand.

The luxuries
When I was finally able to move again, crawled out of bed, and proceeded to have a languid  bath soak, using penhaligons Vanities oil. The adorable glass bottle was given to my for my birthday, but now absolutely besoted with the stuff and will have to buy it myself. Traditional glass bottle, the superb packaging, the utterly divine smell. It just feels so luxurious to open the glass stopper and pour in a hot bath.
I cleansed my face using cotton wool pads and plain, inexpensive rose water. Added a couple of drops of cold pressed apricot kernel oil (instead of serums) to my evening face cream and my skin was very happy. My night cream is still byTerry, haven’t found anything nearly as good to replace it.

Then back to freshly made bed with a glass of sparkling water and a Melba toast to calm my poor stomach.

The List
penhaligons Vanities oil.
inexpensive rose water.from here
cold pressed apricot kernel oil from fragrant earth
night cream byTerry
plenty of sleep + calm yoga breathing

Even though I missed all the action, election debates, (Theresa where art thou?) Trumps later escapades, (Paris agreement anyone?) feel much better now. Give it a couple more days on this low maintenance beauty routine and I may be able to kick some Borgias ass again…

© Ladysarahinlondon

Stay relevant and up to date, study in depth my previous style and current affairs posts – get the password for ‘protected posts’ And help Save the elephant!

How to access password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Save the Wild Elephant Or rescuing a baby elephant!

I only seem to be able to eat, plain rice or Melba toast and water during migraine attacks

8 thoughts on “Beauty routines: low maintenance luxuries for instant feel good factor

  1. dottoressa

    I’m so sorry and hope that you are feeling much better
    My friend had very ugly migraine last week,too-after a very upset day at work,dark chocolate cake and red wine
    Dottoressa

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Thank you yes- red wine & dark chocolate as well as stress can be major migraine triggers. I am relaxing now and feel much better. your fathers place sounds intriguing,- I meant to do a follow up post on listed interiors.

      Reply
  2. Susan

    Nothing worse than a migraine. Sounds like a bit of R&R along with spa lux treatments worked wonders. Glad to hear you are starting to feel better. Regarding dealing with people issues, I always tried to keep a good sense of humor about it all. Nothing gets them like a response of laughter, followed by a demand. The act of laughing, says, without verbalizing…I do not take you seriously, you are no threat, fool…The verbal; demand establishes control. I love dealing with these types of situations. Enjoy – Susan

    Reply
  3. SA.

    I am so sorry to hear you weren’t doing well. Please take care and get as much rest as possible. As they say, that is the best medicine. Thank you for sharing your R&R routine. Simple, yet effective!

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      I feel much better now thank you. I may even tackle another blog post, 😊 if I can look at the screen for that long. Still have to catch up on my French homework, so many things we we do demand a screen these days…

      Reply
  4. Antonia

    Hi Lady Sarah, I’m so happy to hear you’re feeling better. My mother used to get really bad migraines and she also had to lay very still in a dark room, her complexion would be white as a sheet-it was so sad to see her like that. I haven’t heard her complain about it lately so that good!! Love reading about your beauty routine-I like getting new ideas!! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Leela

    Thank you for the rosewater link. Stocking up – seems like a very good deal….love rosewater in my beauty routine which is also low maintenance. 😂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

