Investment dressing: the Golden Rules

I love rules, not only I don’t find them restrictive but see them as essential frame work for any successful decision making process.

In the next few posts, I will share my top requirements for wise investment purchases.

The first and foremost rule, which all others abide…
the mother of all rules:
Sound of drums: 
Rule # no.1

1. Whenever I buy something expensive, it has to look better on me, than on the model or some other stupid fantasy going on in my head. I’d expand this rule to include any purchase, not just the expensive ones. Some styles are never going to work if you are under 5.7 and/or on the plus side. (Examples I can think off hand: exaggerated frills, oversize tailoring, ginormous boyfriend jeans… CHANEL tweed can look matronly on some, poor fit tailoring can reduce even the most expensive item into a gross liability…) and don’t rely on your best friend or mum, for advice on what looks good…

This may sound obvious but it can take years of experimentation to sift through the noise and work out, the shapes, colours and textures that work best for us.

Harsh but true: An infinite budget and an expensive wardrobe won’t come to the rescue here, a good three way mirror is what we need…Do you have one? Try things on and try them on again. A size up and a size down…

thank you For your insightful comments-  my second golden rule  in ‘investment dressing’   – rule #2 coming up shortly!

The fight against evil
The fight against evil must go on, please help to spread the word or make a donation to Save the Elephant from extinction. Whatever you can give makes a difference.

My old tweed from CHANEL – love the detachable collar and cuffs, which can create many looks. Excellent PPW & CPW  for this fitted style that suits my body type well. Be warned that Tweed can look matronly on some, poor fit tailoring can reduce even the most expensive item into a gross liability –  a  three way mirror is our best friend.

© Ladysarahinlondon

13 thoughts on “The Rules for Investment Dressing #1

  1. Pret a Porter P

    I agree it can take years of trial and error to find the rt silhouettes, etc… And once you have it figured out, your body can betray you and it starts all over again. lol!

    Reply
  2. SA.

    A three way mirror indeed! – I think it is better to be brutally honest with oneself before opening the wallet. 🙂
    I don’t have any real investment pieces yet. But, I will remember this rule when I am ready to make those sartorial investments.

    Reply
  3. dottoressa

    Beautiful Chanel tweed!
    You are such an expert
    I love rules and lists,looking forward your next post
    Dottoressa

    Reply
  4. Susan

    I also agree, knowing what looks good on you is key. Certain styles and cuts are going to complement and flatter where as others detract. Even high cost, “investment” pieces can look awful or great on an individual. That said, only clear thinking and knowledge of “what looks good” on your particular body type should be the criteria used to make a decision to purchase.

    Reply
  5. Jacquette Ghazal

    I am doing a closet clean out myself because of your rules. Too many purchases for “later” or when “I can make it work” comes around. Oh well.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      goodness – don’t listen to me! 🙂 but you could always put clothes in a bag and if you don’t look for them in six months donate to charity. Anything older, say special dresses kept unworn for years are unlikely to make us feel confident when the special situation finally presents itself. I generally find these rules work well for me as I do not waste money on ‘good deals’ which I never wear.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

