Perfect coatFashion resolutions 2017

Being devastatingly stylish is a full time job.

Change in the world is now inevitable and we need to have the correct wardrobe prepared. Yet, dear friends, how does one prepare for change! I spend ages writing and re- writing these style resolutions. I edited them, then binned everything and started again – and again.

My final verdict was start small and Keep it simple!
Tidy up thy wardrobe every week.
How can we expect to be stylish if opening the wardrobe reveals a war zone? Fold thy cashmere sweaters, roll the socks and iron the shirts. Don’t forget the underwear drawer. About 25 minutes once a week should be enough for mine. The size of our wardrobe needs to reflect real needs and lifestyle. I have more time than my sister (who does not have to work, but has 3 demanding children). Needless to say, I have much less time (thus a much smaller wardrobe) than a full time socialite who employs a personal stylist.

Shop with a carefully constructed plan
Make a list to reflect thy real needs, not thy instagram needs. Check the diary, what do you see in your future! Do you see weddings, court proceedings, cocktail parties or weekends away on the horizon? A month’s holiday in St Lucia, or dozens of work meetings,discussing how to best deal with Brexit ? Complete outfits are required for those events, and thy shall not buy clothes for imaginary scenarios. Buy less and only the very best, I ditched fast fashion and the items ‘everyone wears’. My wardrobe is unique to me.

Invest in every day Quality/luxury
I said it before and will say it again. Spend more on the clothes we wear every day. A quality every day coat, good shoes, excellent underwear! And socks of course! Investing in good basics takes time and is less fun than those ‘statement pieces.’ It is however the foundation of Personal style. Being stylish is a full time job with no time off. Buy quality made by skilled people, no room for sweatshops!

Re think statement pieces
We all need one or two really great items, to ‘elevate’ the quality basics. A vintage Kelly bag? A hand embroidered shawl or a pink coat? An amazing Gucci belt, some boodles chandelier earrings? What are those things you absolutely love and can be your 2017 statement pieces?

My London lifestyle involves a lot of rain and public transport, therefore a good trench coat is a must.

My wardrobe is crying out for more lovely pink.

My wardrobe is crying out for more lovely pink. This needs to be exactly the correct shade, not too sugary and not too dirty. Very particular about this.

This is the year I shall nail down the perfect straw bag!

This is the year I shall nail down the perfect straw bag! This one looks promising and I shall be patiently waiting for its launch. From Muuñ, who combine Ghanaian craft with Parisian design and Japanese influences. Local artisans in Ghana weave the handbags in the small village of Nyariga, subsequently send to the labels Paris atelier for the Parisian finishing touches. Sounds like my kind of thing…

 

A vintage Kelly bag makes a perfect statement piece to 'elevate' a simple outfit. Don't forget the yoga to get those arms toned.

A vintage Kelly bag makes a perfect statement piece to ‘elevate’ a simple outfit. Don’t forget the yoga to get those arms toned.

I am a sucker for the equestrian look- 2017 will be the year I book some more weekends away...

I am a sucker for the equestrian look- 2017 will be the year I finally put in my diary some more weekends away…just so I can wear the clothes…lady Mary watch out!

Every day luxury from the divine majestic filatures.

Every day luxury from the divine majestic filatures. Gradually replaced all my old tees with beautiful ones from majestic, made in the EU with linen/cashmere/ silk blends. The unstructured jackets are great for work and comfortable enough for weekends.

May 2017 be the year to bring sanity and order in our wardrobes.

May 2017 be the year to bring sanity and order in our wardrobes.

The fight against evil must go on, please make a small donation to save the elephant from extinction. Whatever you can give makes a difference.

© Ladysarahinlondon

Fashion resolutions from 2014
Fashion resolutions from 2015
Fashion resolutions from 2016

13 thoughts on “How to be Devastatingly stylish: Fashion resolutions for 2017

  1. jennu

    My resolutions are simple too:
    1. be devastatingly stylish at all times. 😃
    2.get rid of all the duds in my closet. Mostly fast fashion mistakes
    3.understand quality- thank you for all the tips in your blog Sarah- and buy less,
    I do have trouble finding quality, affordable, made in USA brands. if you have any specifics please would you please share?

    Reply
    1. dottoressa

      If I may add Lady Sarah-I’ve found somewhere (maybe even here or at Archana’s blog ,sorry,can’t remember) :The Goodtrade- 35 Fair Trade& Ethical Clothing Brands Betting against Fast Fashion,a lot of them from US
      Dottoressa

      Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Something intense with a lot of ‘chaturangas’ or you could just do weights, either way it’s best to consult an expert to get you started, so you make sure technique is correct. Happy new year and thank you for all your support!

      Reply
  2. Susan

    I like investment pieces. They usually stay with me a long time. Both classic and timeless. I also agree that the quality of many products (including clothing) in the USA is in decline. Many of the previously great makers are producing things in China, India,..Susan

    Reply
  3. dottoressa

    Investing in every day luxury/quality-thank you Lady Sarah,that was one of my best decisions!
    The straw bag is so beautiful.
    No new fashion (or any other ) resolutions
    My intent for 2017. is to exercise more and to be fit.
    Perfect navy coat and perfect navy dress would be welcome-but not urgent,as well as new down coat (we are in an ice age right now! – 20° to -10° C,snow even near Dubrovnik. Completely ultrarare! Poor tourists! )
    Dottoressa

    Reply
  4. Archana Paladugu

    Need some advice.

    I am tired of my brown satchel. I want to make a switch from the slouchy to structured bags. Want to get something in black. Learnt that box bags were quite the rage in the 60s. Kelly like bags were made by most companies and women carried them by the top handle. I see a sturdy vintage Ferragamo black box bag on etsy that looks the right size. And so many more on the vintage market. I know that you own a few Kellys and have first hand experience. Thoughts on vintage box bags ?

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Vintage ferragamo is amazing in terms of quality. If you managed to locate a good one and the price is right- grab it quick. Box leather needs regular upkeep but personally. Love the way it looks – it refurbished beautifully. There are a couple of posts here on refurbished leather.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

