Big mistakeWill English children ever speak to their parents again?

Were I, just a wee bit younger, there would a tantrum and refusal  to speak to my parents and grandparents.

How could you do this England? How could you vote to get us out of the EU, stealing the future of the young? Our dream of a Star Trek like Europe, a liberal, wealthy Europe with no borders and no wars, has been bashed on the head. Scotland, Northern Ireland and London voted Remain. But outside London, the rest of England voted out. (So did Wales, would you believe it)

The mood in London on Friday? Pretty depressed actually. I got a morning coffee from Prêt, from the extremely hardworking people there, Paolo and Antonio. They make the very best coffee and have attractive foreign accents. Sorry guys, I never thought of you as “immigrants”, to me you are just fellow Londoners. What is wrong with travelling freely and working all over Europe?

To be honest, I am devastated. Despite my trully atrocious, command of the French language, I am a European at heart. Before we met, my husband and I, both of us, travelled and lived in a number of places over Europe. We were the lucky ones, travel shaped our personalities for better or for worse.

 I love the French, the Polish, the Germans and the other Europeans coming here to work. People are what made London great, but sadly something went wrong for the rest of England.

Excuse me now, I shall go and weep somewhere… And invest in a stylish raincoat, trust me and do the same, we shall all of us be needing one.

My fashion tip: invest in a good raincoat - turmoils ahead...

My fashion tip: invest in a good raincoat – turmoils ahead…

The fight against evil
To all the dear readers of this blog, Hoping to make a significant donation to Save the Elephant, please help to spread the word or make a donation to save the elephant from extinction. Whatever you can give makes a difference.

© Ladysarahinlondon

 

Newspaper Brexit aftermath

Little England votes to leave

The British Pound at its lowest since 1985. If our US cousins are planning to visit, here is your chance.

The British Pound at its lowest since 1985. If our US cousins are planning to visit, here is your chance.

Opinion from the US on the results of the referendum.
“according to Google, the top two internet searches in Britain just after the vote was announced were “What does it mean to leave the EU” and “What is the EU.” I can think of three explanations for this fascinating and terrifying bit of news: 1) a lot of people voted without carefully considering the outcome or policy implications of their vote; 2) a lot of people didn’t vote and weren’t even close to informed; 3) people voted to leave, but didn’t actually think it would happen and were researching to find out what they had just done. Whichever explanation is correct, it doesn’t suggest that people can really handle democracy or policy-making. This is what the American founders thought. They were total elitists. With the exception of Jefferson and the Anti-Federalists — a definite minority — most leaders of the Revolutionary generation thought that people couldn’t possibly be expected to understand how to govern themselves. There is research out there suggesting that the weather has a greater impact on the outcome of elections than many other factors, and that most voters simply do not understand the implications of their votes on a host of issues. When it comes to globalization, the issues are far too complex for most of us to understand. So we vote emotionally, we vote based on our affinity groups or on our identity. All of that suggests that perhaps we should keep the votes (read: referenda) to a bare minimum.”

16 thoughts on “London, Scotland and Northern Ireland voted Remain – but the rest of England voted out of EU

  1. pgshore

    Devastated on your behalf, L.S.; I was genuinely shocked that the vote went the way it did. Hard times ahead, indeed. And here on the other side of the pond we have our own frightening battle coming up in November. Horrors! Instead of retail therapy, I think I’ll go donate some $$$ to elephants. Chin up, dear.

    Reply
  2. dottoressa

    I am so sorry,so sorry dear Lady Sarah!
    First,for all of you who have to live with the choice of the other half,for us, whose life would be also changed in a lot of ways and for all our children!
    I couldn’t believe in the morning and later was shocked with Brexit comments from the readers on some blogs! You know how I really love London and GB,from books and BBC series, even before I first got here! I was always happy here. One piece of my heart always knew that my son,despite best of the best education,with two masters,both here and in London, would be immigrant for a lot of people, forever. Well,now maybe not.
    This was very emotional(my comment,too), and beautiful post, LS
    Eventually,everything will end well. Some day.
    My heart is with you!
    Dottoressa

    Reply
  3. Steve Morris

    I’m still a firm believer in democracy and in referendums/referenda despite the outcome. If you can’t trust people, then we aren’t living in a civilization.

    Reply
  4. emanuela larini

    What’s going to happen to my wonderful,cosmopolitan London? I lived there for over 10 years, and I’ve always felt this was my home,the place where I want to live in. I’ve never felt unwanted,and I fell in love with this town! My friends still joke about the fact that” if anything comes from London,it has to be perfect..”.I always loved the tolerance,the variety you could find in just one city, and I always made sure that I visited this beautyful lively place whenever I had the chance,the time…and the money.I’m visiting again next december, and I have a question to ask to whoever voted for brexit:Shall i be welcome again or shall I just feel rejected,shall I still be able to feel like a part of it or shall I be treated like foe?Is it going to be still cosmopolitan, a beacon of tolerance and open-mindness or what?I still have faith in the british people, none of my british friends(thank goodness!) were for brexit,and they are as sad as I am.London I’ll love you forever, just don’t let me write R.I.P. on you!

    Reply
  5. mochachoc

    I’m astounded by all the pessimism. I have every confidence that Britain will be fine, maybe even great again. People from other countries will continue to come and enjoy living here. The future of the young has not been stolen (was this hyperbole?). Immigration was one issue. For me it was about sovereignty and the ability to influence and hold accountable our leaders. I’m against this slow march toward federalism – the concentration of power in the hands of a few. How could you not rejoice that 52% of those who voted, voted for direct democracy?

    I was born and bred here and I’m still considered an immigrant. I shrug and move on. I know who I am.

    I voted ‘leave’ and get this: I thought it through as best as I could. Ultimately I voted for freedom.

    Most of the political, media and business elite got it very wrong because they forget London is not Britain. There is a certain whiff of cosmopolitan/metropolitan (?) arrogance that is on show and the rest of England (largely) reminded you they’re still here and what they think matters too.

    Let’s pray that we get a great PM to steady the ship and steer us through all the pessimism and choppy waters. We’ll get there people. It’s a wonderful opportunity. We are blessed with brilliant people and talent all over this island.

    I’m happy. Very happy with the result. And I’m a born and bred Londoner with Jamaican roots.

    Oh and thanks for the post on raincoats. I ordered a lemon one and love it.

    Reply
  6. Dn in NYC

    Dear LS,
    I am an American, but know people who live I London from all over and have been shocked and devastated as well. The vote affects everyone because it challenges the idea of a peaceful, unified Europe, and may have weakened that unity in the rest of the block. I have been following the Guardian’s live blog–such chaos and so many contradictory statements have come out since. It makes me think those in charge never really thought things through. Good protective outerwear is certainly a necessity in these circumstances.

    Reply
  7. Marie

    I feel your pain Lady Sarah. A sad day. I live in “the rest of England” and not all of us did vote to leave the EU. In fact Liverpool, Manchester, Wirral and Sefton voted to stay amongst others.

    Reply
  8. Susan

    My hope is that the people of Britain will remain open and accepting. Some how I believe it would take a lot to change this, and Brexit will not do it. In my view there will always be a minority that are un-accepting of others and ready to judge. The same problem exists in the USA. Just look at D.Trump! I have to wonder about the economic impact of Brexit to Britain. This is my concern.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

