Look book pearls & twinset

Twinset & pearls are back!

Magnificent way to wear twinset & pearls- for the goddess. Credit telegraph Miu Miu.

Magnificent way to wear twinset & pearls- fit for my inner goddess. Credit telegraph Miu Miu.

Pearls for the contemporary lady.

Pearls and cashmere twinsets  for the contemporary lady.

 

Twinset & pearls are back!
Admittedly, I never knew they left us, though, one vaguely remembers the Kate Moss emphatic statement. “You can think twinset & pearls, but you can never wear them.”
In any case, I love my ‘faux’ pearls and insist on wearing them daily, with cashmere tops and denim, though perhaps not so much with traditional twinsets. A little modern interpretation is always good , to bring things up to date.
Miu Miu has some terrific styling ideas and of course CHANEL is always big on pearls. The way to wear them now is mixing metals, and layering the necklaces. A charm or a little bow addition perhaps.

My personal take is more about simplicity, clean lines,  the perfect fit twinset and exquisite posture. Styling my hair with an anti frizz treatment and a sleek pony tail completes the look.
Twinset & pearls- I love you! Easy dressing at its best.

Straight from the catwalk. Brocades were the "thing". Beware though as in real life, this can easily look like a carpet

Straight from the catwalk. Brocades were the “thing”. Beware though as in real life, this can easily look like a carpet

Pearls with brocade for a dressy look. The shorts keep it fresh.

Pearls with brocade for a dressy look. Note how the shorts keep it fresh, this can be very aging if worn “incorrectly”.

Denim jacket & pearls- another winning look in my book. Look into the future ladies!

Denim jacket & pearls- another winning look in my book. Look into the future ladies!

The fight against evil must go on, please make a small donation to save the elephant from extinction. Whatever you can give makes a difference.

More office wear lookbook Or denim look book posts

© Ladysarahinlondon

Vintage lotus pearls are usually inexpensive and unique. To be found in Flea markets, second hand shops, wealthy old aunts jewellery boxes, or eBay...

Vintage lotus pearls are usually inexpensive and unique. To be found in Flea markets, second hand shops, wealthy old aunts jewellery boxes, or eBay…

15 thoughts on “Look book: twinsets & pearls are officially back!

  1. dottoressa

    Gorgeous MiuMiu look! And some of Chanel…..☺
    I love pearls,too
    Dear Lady Sarah,you rock with pearls and cashmere and you are a fashion visionary and an icon
    Dottoressa

    Reply
  2. Virginia

    The Miu Mui look is wonderful, I love the long skirt with the twinset and pearls. I am imagining the look in navy or burgundy for myself, I must find a way to re-create this combo! Divine. Is this from the F/W 2016 shows?

    Reply
      1. dottoressa

        Dear Virginia,you are so right! I am wearing long navy DKNY silk skirt sometimes with a v-neck navy cashmere (and pearls or golden necklace). As there is an ocean between us,I’ll try it with burgundy,if I may copy your idea?
        Dottoressa

      2. Virginia

        I made a quick look in polyvore, but I do not know how to add here. In any event, please do copy dottoressa, I love to inspire others, especially with color.

  3. Heidi

    Well lucky me! I purchased two Brora short sleeved cashmere tops in black and navy during the sales to go with my existing black and navy Brora cardigans… and coupled with the fact that I have a lovely strand of pearls it looks like I’m going to be highly fashionable this season… but I personally always think its the way you wear your classics as to whether they look staid or fresh.

    Reply
  4. Archana Paladugu

    I inherited a strand of pearls from my mother passed down from grandma. I find them extremely hard to wear without looking preppy. Its such a sin letting them rot in a box like I currently do. Need to find a way to make them work.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Sometimes I find ‘real’ jewellery is more difficult wear in a flattering fashion- not sure why… Inherited pearls sound lovely though so look around for inspiration. It may be worth getting them restrung with a charm or something for a fresh look.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

