image

Welcome Spring that’s all I have to say, and not a moment too soon.

It doesn’t feel quite like spring yet, London is cold, and the rain relentless. But as any seasoned Londoner could tell you- Spring is on the way and nothing can stop us now.

Time to have a look at the spring shoe collections, already on display in most London shops. I am looking for a new special occasions pair. A couple of events looming on the horizon, including a wedding, where frankly my usual kick ass military boots, just won’t cut it.

Still it is a priority for me that me feet are happy and I like ALL my toes to fit, inside the shoe. Call me eccentric, but there you go…

Libertys is a good place to start the search.

Seductive colours and beautifully made. Sadly my toes are not comfortable, the cost is prohibitive and I find them a little bit of a cliché.

Seductive colours and beautifully made. Sadly my toes are not comfortable, the cost is prohibitive and to be honest, I find them a little bit of a walking cliché.

These were comfortable and loved the chunky, bod design.

These were comfortable and loved the chunky, bold design.

Bold heel contemporary shoe

Contemporary shoe is all about the heel. Chunky and contrasting.

I rather liked these burnished Gold vintage look shoe. Timeless and still modern.

I rather liked these burnished Gold vintage look shoe. Timeless and still modern.

These metallic silver pumps came from top shop, reasonable priced, attractive and one could dance the night away wearing them...

These metallic silver pumps came from top shop, were reasonable priced, attractive and one could dance the night away wearing them…notice the well shaped heel.

Then I started getting distracted by these leopard print, sneakers. Simply divine, so I may have to get those and forget about the wedding. Focus girl, focus...

Then I started getting distracted by these leopard print, sneakers. Simply divine, so I may have to get those and forget about the wedding. Focus girl, focus… Make a budget.

The hairy s/s 16 trend raises its ugly head...

The hairy s/s 16 trend raises its ugly head… Not sure if one should laugh out loud, or cry.

Sandals with marabou, in silver and blush pink. Got ta tell you, I was tempted.

Sandals with marabou, in silver and blush pink. Gotta tell you, my inner diva, was seriously tempted.

The winners. Beautifully made, wearable from a company who offers repairs. Made in England of course...

The winners. Beautifully made, wearable from a company who offers repairs. Made in England of course… If like me, you have wide feet, try wearing brogues or loafers. A much better choice, than squishing poor toes into pointy shoes. Uhjgb!

Study these before the next pair of shoes. Credit daily mail.

Study these before the next pair of shoes. Credit daily mail.

Lady Sarahs shoe philosophy: # colour matching can be a bit old fashioned, go for contrast instead. # comfort is everything. # style is also everything, don’t settle for orthopaedic shoes. # find well cushioned shoes and try a size up and a size down. Half sizes, quarter sizes… # if you find a style that’s really good, invest. # good posture and spine alignment start with the feet.

Last spring shoe search here & here.

The fight against evil must go on, please make a small donation to save the elephant from extinction. Whatever you can give makes a difference.

© Ladysarahinlondon

Would you to like to help Save the Elephant and get the password for ‘protected posts’? Help us ensure the survival of the magnificent elephant species. Act now before it’s too late.

How to access password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Save the Wild Elephant Or rescuing baby elephants, by making a donation.Please make your donation and get in touch for the passwords, quoting the charity payment reference. Please donate directly to the charities.

15 thoughts on “Fashion update: searching for Spring shoes S/S16

  1. dottoressa

    I like Grenson 🙂
    But a special occasion pair,well,that’s great problem. I would like to spend the first part of event in some Blahnik/Choo/Ferragamo (only in my dreams,maybe if sitting)and dancing…..barefoot could be an option! Or leopard print sneakers (leopard print in small quantities could be fine with me,but for street style,not an event)
    IRL, I could try Prada or some other Mary Jane version. Please show us your final decision 🙂
    Last week ( five cold but beautiful days ) in London I was wearing Paul Green black patent brogues and Tod’s ankle boots
    Thank you for tips – I had afternoon tea at Fenwicks . I could live there 2-3 days 🙂 ,it was elegant and tasteful! Rules must wait for next visit
    And the Vogue exibition…!!!
    Have you read “Grace” from Grace Coddington? It was so interesting to see actual photos described in the book
    Have a nice Sunday
    Dottoressa

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Oh I will have a look for grace thank you for the suggestion. I hate spending money on special occasion shoes, they go out of fashion before I get a chance to wear them out. Such a waste.

      Reply
  2. happyface313

    🙂 The Manolo’s are stunners, but I can’t wear them either.
    The silver TopShop shoes look comfortable and are pretty, too.
    These days I go for comfy over stunningly beautiful any time.
    A very HAPPY weekend to you 🙂

    Reply
  3. Archana Paladugu

    Those hairy shoes are wearing a wig !

    Ferragamos are rumored to be very comfortable and look dressy with the bow and hardware ?

    My philosophy on dress shoes : dress up your flats and dress down your heels. I purchased some lace up flats that have become my special occasion shoes. I paid a lot of money for these and I do not like the fact that they dont get enough wear.

    I never liked embellished shoes or the rhinestone studded ones for myself. They do look good on others. Perhaps due to large exposure, I do like Valentino Rockstuds on bloggers. Again, I do not think they are for me. They do look dressy with the studs and patent leather. Garance Dore wears them really well.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      I really don’t like the rock studs. But in general I never wear pointy shoes. I mean, my feet are not pointed!!!!!😃 If you look at the illustration at the end of the post, there is a drawing of what happens to feet in pointy shoes.

      Reply
  4. Virginia

    I really like the Pradas! They look like you could wear them for other occasions to get some wear out of them (your grey silk skirt! , black trousers). Keep us posted.
    P.s. love the silver loafers!

    Reply
  5. Sue

    It’s so tricky finding shoes for specific events, isn’t it? I try to wear flats day and night where possible, even when it’s somewhere v smart. I quite like Penelope Chilvers’ Dandy pumps, and have a couple of these in suede/pony hair variations. Otherwise, Rupert Sanderson often does very comfortable flats in amazing colours. Totally approve of the Grenson’s – I have that pair in a conker brown and love them (Grenson also do a crackled metallic brogue without a flatform that looks quite party-ish).

    Reply
  6. Marie S

    I too need a new pair of shoes for a wedding this year but tend to struggle with buying shoes generally. I also need a new outfit. I hate buying things for special occasions and always try to find something that will mix with my other clothes and can wear again. Any more tips on shoes would be most welcome.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Occasion shoes are very difficult as I don’t like to spend too much because of costs per wear. Likewise, cheap shoes look terrible, so quite the dilemma. If you haven’t decided on the outfit it’s extra hard, I will do a post on dressy outfits, I like to mix vintage with something new. For example a Chanel cashmere top with a contemporary skirt.

      Reply
  7. silkpathdiary

    Agree! Excellent topic of course. Your new platform loafers are great! I have a family wedding looming next month and there is no point in wearing very pretty shoes since the church is almost rural plus the evening reception will be in a listed barn (silent disco anyone – can’t contain myself!). Luckily I do have erm some dressy shoe stock from years ago when I had occasion and ability to wear them often. I find Manolos fit too narrowly on me but I love the simpler more chunky heeled styles shown.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

