image

It’s November, London is getting chillier and my cycling to work outfit includes a large scarf, worn ‘bandit style’. I must admit to favour the oversize scarf look. Somehow it feels so cosy, to be well wrapped up in clouds of cashmere.

Oversize

Oversize lambswool- expensive but worth it.

The plaid oversize scarf

The plaid oversize scarf

You need an extra long scarf, for this, depending on your height. It needs to look generous, otherwise best tucked in.

You need an extra long scarf, for this, depending on your height. It needs to look generous, otherwise best tucked in.

I love tartan, so evocative of Autumn/Winter

I love tartan, so evocative of Autumn/Winter

My own scarve is a plain colour, cashmere/silk mix.

My own scarf is a low key, plain colour, cashmere/silk mix.

When searching for scarves, I usually start with  Libertys. It is kinda of a scarf heaven, with the very best designs and colours of the season conveniently crammed together in one big, “faux” Tudor room.

The shortlist:
Faliero Sarti is a little obsession of mine, love the subtle colours and divine drape. My favourites are usually cashmere/ silk mix. For pure cashmere or top quality lambswool there is Johnstons- made in Scotland since 1700’s and still retaining top quality – with up to the minute designs. Isabel Marant and several other ‘name’ designers were a disappointment, high price and high viscose content! What happened to quality and longevity, one should expect at that sort of price point?

Of course there are always inexpensive options, and Zara does this sort of thing well. I could not take the 100% acrylic content, even if I were into fast fashion. Such a shame, for a little bit more base cost, zara and the other high street brands, could use a lambswool/cotton or silk, mix and make scarves we could actually wear – staying warm & stylish. Acrylic ones are just a fire hazard!

Instead it looks like one has to visit Scotland for the weekend, to find affordable, good tartans in pure wool and zero acrylic…
image
image

Faliero Sarti

Faliero Sarti- the one and only. Do forgive my obsession, the divine drape and rich, subtle colour, gets me every time.

image

It's easy to find inexpensive tartan scarves. Sadly most of the ones I liked were acrylic, which offer no real warmth. They'd make a great pic nic rug though...

Looking to find inexpensive tartan scarves. Sadly most of the ones I liked, were acrylic, which offer no real warmth. They’d make a great pic nic rug though…

Lambswool scarves in classic tartans - made in Scotland.

Lambswool and cashmere scarves in classic tartans – made in Scotland.

I visited the highland store and was pleasantly surprised!

I visited the highland store and was pleasantly surprised!

© Ladysarahinlondon Welcome to the blog of London adventures & wardrobe fixations   Access to password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Protecting Elephants  Or rescue a baby elephantDonate now and save our wildlife from extinction!

Some other accessorising posts…
Accessorising: the four handbags for the contemporary lady
image
Accessorising: wearing pearls without looking passé
image

7 thoughts on “Accessorising: how to wear the winter scarf. (Stay warm & stylish)

    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Ooh enjoy! -I don’t have any, the price is way too high for me- I tend to use my scarves for cycling in London traffic, yoga cover ups and occasionally even use them as pic nic rugs. The Hermes ones are very beautiful, but not sure they’d withstand this sort of lifestyle. Do you wash yours or do they have to be dry cleaned?

      Reply
  1. dottoressa

    I visited Highland store last summer,a couple of nice scarves,excelent for gifts,good value for money,don’t you think? I plan to visit in February again and see. I liked Faliero Sarti woven like berry colour scarf( have you seen it?) but ended with N peale cashmere berry one.
    Like Burberry silk and cashmere scarfs very much but feel like walking add lately.
    Weekend Max Mara had great plaid one in royal blue/dark blue check, in merino wool, last year,maybe too big,but it was very handy during wintercold,or to wear with leather jacket for extra layer during fall.
    And I can’t help loving my old LW leopard cashmere stole! Do you have any experience with Bindya scarves?
    Dottoressa

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      I like the highland – they are designed for tourists, but pleasantly surprised with quality, style and price. Max mara are also a good option as you say…no experience with bindya scarves, but they look very nice on line – and will see if I can check them out in person. Have you seen them?

      Reply
  2. dottoressa

    No,only on net,but they seem to be good quality and I would like one floral print this winter. But better to try in person for the first time!

    Reply
  3. silkpathdiary

    Great election and examples! I’m quite happy with what I have except for another shawl. In theory I’d love to wear plaid but fear looking like I stole the picnic blanket – the perils of being so short!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

