image

Before deciding on the fast, we had a lovely, long breakfast at the Wolseley.

Excellent strong coffee, proper croissant and fresh juice. We fortified ourselves and now we are ready for it. The fast fashion fast, I mean.

October is dedicated to shopping with full awareness.  No looking into H&M, Top Shop or ASDA. No sneaky visits to  ZARA, GAP, PRIMARK and the like. (Emails from j.crew, straight into the junk folder, ok?)  This should not be too hard, as already weaned myself from those shops, (with the exception of Top Shop boutique, ‘made in England’ only clothes – I like to support our turf.)

The fast fashion fast
Make no mistake, this is not a shopping ban. It’s a fast fashion fast, you’ve seen my budget. The creation of a tres chic long term London wardrobe has no room for fast fashion. Clearly, we should have no room for cruel fashion either. (have you read this? Pay attention to the last paragraph, the trend for furry handbag thingies (or anything fur) will not seem quite so appealing.) make your own fashion story…here. Or here

For just one month, my goal is to be trully mindful, researching everything I buy. Obviously no fast fashion, but will look deeper into how things are made. If I don’t like what I find, or if more likely, ‘information not available’ I will not buy. I want to know where my clothes are made, who made them and what sort of environmental impact they have.
Don’t forget that overindulging in fast fashion is one of the major four shopping errors.
Who is going to join me on this 28 day fast fashion fast? Do we think we can last that long?

© Ladysarahinlondon

Accessing password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Save the Wild Elephant Or rescuing baby elephants, by making a donation.

20 thoughts on “The 28 day Fast Fashion Fast.

  1. dottoressa

    Dear Lady Sarah,I’m with you,even before you declared it :-). I’ll check any purchase and intend to buy only one hat from famous Zagreb hatmaker and nothing else until London. That is supporting local handycraft! And in London I’ll be very careful. I didn’t buy nothing for two weeks
    I will confess all my sins 🙂 here!
    Dottoressa

    Reply
      1. dottoressa

        Oh,yes,she is great,long family tradition,classic,but can go wild (not Ascott or Tracy wild,but still)
        I have beautiful summer straw hat,one old black hat and two french beret style from her
        Best to come and see one day 🙂
        Dottoressa

  2. Sharron

    I’m with you!!! Starting tonight with junking my emails. Although i very rarely buy from such places i quite often have a browse through them. I don’t think i need much to carry me forward into autumn/winter i will research and buy conciously.
    Sharron x

    Reply
  3. Jacquette

    I absolutely agree and will join you. I try to do this already but occasionally slip because here in Hawaii it is so hot and humid sometimes I need something sheer and somewhat disposable

    Reply
  4. Virginia

    Bravo, Lady Sarah, I’m with you all the way! No fast fashion here as much as I can. Looking everywhere for ethical navy blue booties – a real struggle to find any ethical shoes period, never mind fashion forward ones! But I research on, and as I don’t need them they are not a priority. I am shoring up old jeans (meaning mending and repairs) to make my 3 r’s work (reduce, reuse, recycle)! 😃

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Hi Virginia, Re inventing old jeans is supposed to be the ultimate, green denim guide. Share more details when you can. Would also like to know about good shoe makers. Whether I want to or not, I have to buy good shoes every season. And is one area where I don’t consider second hand, I like my shoes new. I know timberland do repairs, and longchamp too. Also veja have some good recycling initiatives.

      Reply
  5. monica

    Dear Lady Sarah- Your blog (lucky discovery, a few months ago) completely SINGs to my soul. I live in India and while we have such fabulous textiles(with mostly handloom/good eco footprint) here, its become so common to see people go gaga over Zara and H&M here. Yikes! While I dress 50% western, I try very hard to find indie shops that do fabulous western designing with Indian textiles ..All worth it, when I can be stylish beyond compare, who wants to be merely wannabe-trendy?!!
    I love your posts- they continuously make me ‘mentally’ edit my (already edited) wardrobe. My friends here cant believe how liitle I own, in comparision to all the roles I play/live out..Big thanks to you!

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Exactly – why be wannabe trendy??. When we can, in fact choose to be stylish. 😀 thank you for the kind imput, spread the word in social media and of course, if you live in India, you probably have access to good tailors and can use those amazing Indian fabrics ❤️ And have clothes especially made for you. ( we sigh with jealousy)

      Reply
  6. Myrkur from TPF

    I’ve been doing this for a while now actually! It’s still hard because there are not a lot of brands out there, but once you find them it’s easier to shop and I feel much happier with my clothes. I think I stopped buying fast fashion clothes about 6 years ago but 2 years I think that I really told myself; absolutely NO fast fashion brand, no synthetics, only made in Europe and 100% pure fabrics. I’m finally getting used to it, the fact that I have to leave something hanging that looks absolutely beautiful but is made in China.

    Reply
    1. Freya

      Same here in France. We’ve stopped fast fashion for two years, and have dressed only in European (especially made in France or Italy) for a year. It’s quite difficult at the beginning but in the end, it’s such a blessing ! I think you even spend less and get much better products.
      Only natural fabrics, you directly get in touch with the director of the brand, and you build a true relationship with the brand. It’s a win win.

      Reply
  7. Jess K.

    Count me in -I want to get a small, nicely edited wardrobe sorted for myself. In the meantime donating lots of my old clothes to the refugee fund. I just hope they can find some use for them.

    Reply
  8. Helena

    Me too. i have been working in cutting out visits to fast fashion stores for a while now. It is hard… its now a habit for me. Suggestions how you did that?

    Reply
  9. silkpathdiary

    Me too! Only because I feel I’ve already cheated in that I began at the start of the year. There is very little on my shopping list for this season and the next. Happily also recycle more and more of my wardrobe in the direction of my Teen who looks infinitely better in everything – except of course diamonds and proper jewels – hah!

    Reply
  10. Pat Kuykendall Weeks

    I am quite happy with my shopping and wardrobe continuous purge this year. I have stuck to my guns on wool, silk or cotton well made “slow fashion” and have enjoyed my chanel flaps almost everyday. I have taken three pairs of shoes/boots to the cobbler for a refresh, and I truly enjoy every piece in my closet – less than 40 hanging pieces (very small quantity for an american, but all above average quality)

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Tea & world domination, by Lady Sarah (or how to survive the London working week) | lady Sarah's London

Leave a Reply

