classic shopping error# 4 (How to stop wasting money buying clothes you never wear)

The last in the series – possibly most major shopping error #4.

# 4 Error : Shopping to kill time

It is a fact of life that I used to shop too much, my sister shops way too much and most of us shop excessively, whether we can afford it or not. It’s a way to relieve boredom. ( hence error#1 the imaginary lifestyle scenario) The result? Our wardrobes are bursting at the seams, yet we still seek to buy more. It is in fact an addiction and we shall seek therapy!

Overindulging in Fashion is bad for your health and kills our planet.

Go on ‘fast fashion’ total fast
Avoiding recreational shopping was possibly the hardest habit to break, but now I’ve weaned myself from Zara, GAP, H&M, Primark and the like. (though there are still sneaky visits, to Top Shop Boutique for their pure silk tops and ‘made in Britain’ range.)

In fact, I can now see those clothes for what they really are, ‘badly made potential landfill material.’ Unless you are after a specific item to fulfil an important role in your wardrobe, stay away from all clothes shops but especially stay away from fast fashion groups. The low prices tend to confuse the mind and clutter the wardrobe!

Why in heavens name, these ladies need so many clothes in one go? I would find it impossible to get dressed and be out of the door, if I had that much choice.

Why in heavens name, these ladies need so many clothes in one go? I would find it impossible to get dressed and be out of the door, if I had that much choice.

For further motivation watch True Cost: and read: this
The research has been done, we simply have NO excuse about not being the stylish, discerning and informed fashion shopper, which is our birthright after all.

My friend Virginia, (a long time reader of this blog) has suggested we join ethical consumer Group, to stay on top of things and make our voice heard. Good to do that before we destroy the planet and have nowhere to live, which will be no fun at all.

Fashion victim? http://www.cleanclothes.org/resources/national-cccs/06-12-fashion-victims.pdf/view

Classic fashion error # 4 is buying too many clothes. We have no room to store them and no place to wear them. Are  they  in fact landfill material, wasting precious resources and poisoning  our dear planet?

And that dear friends, concludes our ‘Classic Shopping Error Series’. If I have missed any, do let me know.

Is it really worth killing the planet for the sake of yellow hotpants?

Is it really worth killing the planet for the sake of yellow hotpants?

Among my friends, I believe I am known as ‘the bag lady,’ not sure if should be flattered or mortified! In any case, I have bought expensive handbags and made most of the classic handbag errors. Therefore- a new series coming up, just for you:
forthcoming post: classic handbag errors and how to choose “investment” handbags.

© Ladysarahinlondon Welcome to the blog of London adventures & wardrobe fixations   Access to password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Protecting Elephants  Or rescue a baby elephantDonate now and save our wildlife from extinction!

25 thoughts on “classic shopping error# 4 (How to stop wasting money buying clothes you never wear)

  1. Sharron

    On point once more lady Sarah. Recreational shopping is the devils work and indeed leads to overconsumption. Last year i kept a track of every purchase 56 items purchased. 42 went bk out. Total cost of said 42 items… £332. Thats one beautiful cashmere jumper that would have been worn forever. Lesson learnt 🙂 Sharron x

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      That’s a good way to stay on top of things. I do something similar – write down everything I buy in a small notebook and add it up at the end of the year. I also asses what I wore and if it was worth it. The results are frightening😃

      Reply
  2. happyface313

    🙂 I’ve noticed that I just don’t like to go clothes shopping anymore. The big chains like H&M, Zara etc. have far too many clothes in the stores and that kind of overwhelmes me. The clothes that find their way into my closet after all will stay for a very long time. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Marie

    I do keep my clothes for a long time but still occasionally make the odd mistake. We have an M&S outlet near where I work and I was tempted to buy yet another pair of black trousers. However when I got them home I realised that I had only bought them because I was stressed so I took them back.

    Reply
      1. Marie

        Thanks for your reply. I do the same but was also wondering if there were any alternatives. 🙂

  4. dottoressa

    Right! I try to stay away from fast fashion. I don’t want to be surrounded with so many things,I don’t want to waste my time and energy to produce more trash. My friends find it pretentious,but I like beautiful things,made in a beautiful way,without cruelty and suffering. I still have a seamstress for fittings and repairs, who enjoys her work and who is well paid.
    And, from time to time, we all make mistakes :-),you can never be 100% sure! Even the price and brand is no assurance
    Dottoressa

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Exactly, we can only do our best. I don’t understand people who say, ‘oh but such and such a company is just as bad and there is no point in trying to shop ethically ‘ nothing is ever created perfect, is all work In progress.

      Reply
  5. Virginia

    Thank you Lady Sarah for a post on one of my great weaknesses – time killing shopping!! I am now spending time Researching retailers rather than just buying whatever. And thanks also for the mention of joining an ethical consumer group – a great way to learn more about what we’re buying!! So many great ethical shopping choices in the UK are mentioned on that ethical site, I’m a bit jealous .

    Reply
  6. Archana Paladugu

    Oh I have gone to one of those places where they give out those roller carts to shoppers. Its called Last Chance. My girl friends love to go there and buy a dozen shoes at once. I couldnt believe a person could do that in one go. I thought they were all ill made crappy shoes. But its all those returned shoes from department stores, left overs from past season and defective shoes. Its still a frenzy in there and women fighting over shoes. I am sure they go home saving some money but there is no elegance in any of it.

    Fast Fashion fast sounds amazing ! We should all make that word more popular and mainstream. I thought the world was moving forward. And then I read that H&M sales are up 16%. Really disappointed with it all. And H&M cover their activities up by releasing one ‘ethical capsule’ once in a while. What a shame.

    I would love to read your bag lady tips. If I may add, ‘being able to buy a bag is not the same as being able to afford it.’. I can go out and buy an Hermes Kelly now, but that doesnt mean I can afford it. A big big lesson every girl should learn I think.

    – Archana.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Wow! Dozen pair of shoes at a time! These people must live in like, palaces, to store all that. Even so don’t be disappointed as the figures don’t always tell the truth. (Tesco’s in the UK was hugely successful on paper, until someone checked the books.) In any case we can only control our own actions and do our bit…❤️ H&M are particularly bad, as they have tried to pay below minimum wage- even their UK shop assistants. Can you believe it?

      Reply
      1. Archana Paladugu

        Hardly. They dont mind a cluttered home. The more, the better sort of mindset. I had so many “you are crazy to give away your stuff” comments when I downsized.

        And paying below minimum wage – disgusting.

  7. Liesbeth

    A shopping fast is definitely a good way to recalibrate (I would even suggest all shopping, not just fast fashion – shows you what pitiful tricks your mind can play on you to just get that immediate gratification we’re so used to). Also, apart from the excellent ‘the true cost’, I’d also suggest watching he short video ‘the story of stuff’: it takes a broader perspective than just clothes.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      I watched the story of stuff- there is a link on this blog somewhere. Pitiful really! But I don’t necessarily think that shopping in itself is evil😃 mindless shopping is evil and the on going quest for “bargains” people don’t really need.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

