I love fashion!

I love the fashion industry!

Tips on Surviving the new fashion trends

# invest in a good 3 way mirror and try things on. Walk, sit, twirl and stretch in that potential new outfit. Check every angle. (My litmus test is being able to run for the bus or cycle in comfort). If everyone did that the world would be a more beautiful place. I like to keep a full length mirror (with accoutrements, clothes brush, hand held steamer, lint roll) in the hallway, for that all important final check before exiting the house.

# we don’t have to buy on every trend. Really! Often what was a beautiful creation, in lovely fabric and great cut, gets murdered when copied for fast fashion. It makes one weep! The original design is but a shadow of its former self, by the time it gets on the “mass market” or the ‘savvy, budget conscious consumer’ as the marketing men like to call & patronise us…

# remember it’s never our fault if those new high waisted jeans, or the culotte trend doesn’t make us look divine. We just haven’t found the right silhouette yet. The teenage model advertising it, has been airbrushed and photoshopped within an inch of her life…

#Some trends are fundamentally exploitative. Anything with fur or ultra cheap clothes feeding on the misery of others. Do you really want anything like that in your wardrobe? (Check out the True Cost movie, it basically does what it says, explaining the cost of new clothes in real terms, the human cost and their legacy on the planet)

# know thyself is the secret to happiness. Keep a consistent personal style. I love one or two quirky touches transcending trends, a bit of vintage or quality second hand, (perhaps a handbag or a piece of jewellery.) it’s amazing how easy it was to be well dressed when eliminating the superfluous.

# have a laugh at the cartoon above. Have you noticed the low rise jeans? Quelle horreur as the French would say.

Our perception of fashion trends. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8262788.stm

Our perception of fashion trends. Credit: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8262788.stm

© Ladysarahinlondon
Welcome to the blog of London adventures & wardrobe fixations  

Access to password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Protecting Elephants  Or rescue a baby elephant!Donate now and save our wildlife from extinction!

10 thoughts on “Surviving fashion trends…and how to stay sane

  1. Antonia

    LOL- I once saw an ad on ebay for ultra low rise jeans and the ad had a woman modeling those jeans and I kid you not, you could see some hair peeking out, just like the photo above! I was appalled because who would buy those jeans after seeing that photo?!?!?! UGH!!! Seriously??

    BTW, I have that movie in my queue on Netflix but haven’t watched it yet. I plan to sometime today.

    Reply
  2. dottoressa

    I completelly agree! And I could add:it is important to have a seamstress to adjust if needed. I prefere my own seamstress to those in better shops! She is very good but mostly because it is faster 🙂
    And all the clothes in adds and editorials are not only photoshopped but fitted too
    I was out (and about, first on a open place play,then on something like a zillion people party) in my plain LBD with my granny’s red coral necklace. And I felt great!
    Dottoressa

    Reply
  3. Archana Paladugu

    I wonder if this is the sort of wisdom that only comes with age. Never cared about trends but was okay with experimenting with clothing to make me stand out. I wince every time I think of it now.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      I don’t know that wisdom necessarily comes with age. In London at least I see plenty of older people trying to dress like rebel teenagers. And some smart well dressed teenagers. I think style needs to be cultivated, just like everything else.

      Reply
  4. Virginia

    I feel a lack of interest in trends lately, unless one comes along that works for me! Natural materials, sustainably and ethically made items have my interests these days. And I cannot figure out this falls “look” for pants and footwear – so I think it will be leggings and boots (again), which works well for the rainy season here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

