image

A really good dinner needs coffee and petit fours.

Beautifully presented in a jewel casket, miniature coffee accompaniments were the perfect end to a lavish meal.

Seven course meals tend to be exhausting affairs and wear me down, so we don’t often go the whole nine yards. (or seven courses as the case may be). This eating marathon, was worth it, just to get to the delectable petit four part.  I really don’t know why more restaurants don’t offer petit fours with their coffee, it should be made compulsory, I say! Legislation is needed.

The order of the feast
Pre starters- amuse bouche, + aperitif
Starter (hors d’ oeuvre as the French like to say) + wine
Main meal + more wine
Cheese + even more wine
Pre dessert
Dessert + Madeira wine
Coffee & petit fours + digestif (small liqueur or brandy)
Someone please carry me home

Jewell like Petit fours to finish a good meal...

Jewell like Petit fours to finish a good meal…

Pied a Terre
Is a Michelin Star restaurant in central London. You can make reservation on line, but it is much easier to phone and talk to someone about what you really want. Request to be seated on the larger room as you enter to the right. The other room is way too small, though what may lack in ambiance it compensates in the food and wine stakes…by the way, we don’t know anything about wine and even if we did, we would not be able to compete the the sommelier. We let him choose and have never been disappointed.

Pied a Terre
French restaurant
34 Charlotte St, London W1T 2NH
020 7636 1178

image
etiquette: What to wear
Keep it simple and non chalant, (but please no sportswear, crumbled un-ironed t shirts, dirty jeans, trainers, (unless veja) baseball hats, or hot pants.) I wore my casual shift dress in washed silk and carried my Kelly pochette. Just the right size for that sort of outing. If you are on the lookout for a small(ish) day to night bag, don’t forget my little Chanel reissue is up for grabs here. 20% of the proceeds go to charity so bid with abandon…

For those who prefer a more rustic & robust French restaurant in London: try lunch here

© Ladysarahinlondon
Welcome to the blog of London adventures & wardrobe fixations  

Access to password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Protecting Elephants  Or rescue a baby elephant!Donate now and save our wildlife from extinction!

12 thoughts on “London delights: coffee with petit fours at Pied a Terre

  1. Antonia

    I love reading about your outings Lady Sarah! The comment ‘someone please carry me home’. made me LOL!

    By the way, I love your Hermes bag! Of course that’s the first thing I spotted when I looked at the photo above. Is the bracelet Hermes too? It’s gorgeous! 🙂

    Reply
  2. dottoressa

    Great place,perfect location(have been to Hakkasan couple of years ago),checked menu a minute ago! Like it very much! You look fabulous!
    What a pleasure to visit such places !
    You know London delights are my favorite 🙂
    And all others posts,too 🙂

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Thank you! Hope you are enjoying your holiday. Yes it’s a good place, excellent food and wine with no pretensions. Though I now need to take it easy. Bread, salad & water for me!

      Reply
  3. Virginia

    I do not know how someone as tiny as you could consume a seven course meal! No wonder you needed to be carried home!

    In any event I adore petit fours, at least as I know them. The only ones I have eaten look like miniature cakes , but I see there is much diversity in the world of “little ovens”. Yummy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

