image

It’s all very well drinking green tea and stretching manicured toes by the pool, but when on holiday, one needs some local colour.

Top things to do on holiday.

# Embracing local culture

Read up on advance on local customs...

Read up in advance on local customs…some of them are delightful.

# Eating local food
go on be brave – lets try at least one new local dish per holiday.

Asparagus mimosa. Never thought I'd love this so much, delicious!

Asparagus mimosa. Never thought I’d love this so much, its delicious!

Eating berries with cream alfresco...

Eating various berries & cream alfresco…

image

# Making a point to see local shops, markets and even supermarkets.
Visiting real food markets and supermarkets is a true insight to how real people live and shop.

Visiting outdoor markets- ideally early morning ones full of locals, avoiding fellow tourists...

Visiting outdoor markets- ideally early morning ones full of locals, avoiding fellow tourists…

Discovering local delicacies and produce...

Discovering unique delicacies and produce…

Locally made French soaps are heavenly. I use this to scent my wardrobe and the organised underwear drawer... More on that later.

Locally made French soaps are heavenly. I buy a collection, every year and use them to scent my wardrobe and the organised underwear drawer... More on that later.

# Embracing local fashion
Always a favourite! So god damn tres chic and lots of ideas for my look books…

Repetto designs are famous throughout the world.

Repetto designs are famous throughout the world.

... And so are Hermes scarves. I must admit ism not a fun of the Hermes scarf look, but I do admire them as world of art in their own right.

… And so are Hermes scarves. I must admit – not a fun of the Hermes scarf look, but I do admire them as pieces of art in their own right.

# Soaking in the local architecture.

Not just the smart things in guide books, but everyday buildings, houses, hotels…even ruins have their stories to tell.

19th century doorway.

19th century doorway. Who wouldnt love two well toned naked men,  holding the doorway? Why don’t I have this at home?

I love walking around these streets.

I love walking around these streets, full of unexpected details.

image

Catching the train to get back home tomorrow.  I missed lady Beatrice and my handbag collection. Update on the reissue camera bag sale - thank you all for your offers, the latest one is £660.00 remember the auction finishes end of July and this delightful bag (over £1000 when new) will go to its new home.

Catching the train to get back home tomorrow. Update on the CHANEL reissue camera bag sale – thank you to all of you who send me their offers. Latest one is £660.00 please help me reach my target of £700, 20% of which will go to save the elephant charity. The auction finishes end of July and this delightful bag (over £1000 when new, so quite frankly a bargain!) will go to its new home.

© Ladysarahinlondon Welcome to the blog of London adventures & wardrobe fixations  Access to password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Save the Wild Elephant Or rescue a baby elephant Donate now and save our wildlife from extinction!

7 thoughts on “Top Things to do on holiday to be a traveller rather than a tourist

  1. Virginia

    Please, please take me with you on your next holiday to this locale! The wine, berries and cream, local markets and soap – divine! Hope you and LSH had a wonderful time, look forward to your apres holiday posts.

    Reply
  2. dottoressa

    What a wonderful hollidays! And your photos are so well chosen,I can almost smell and feel the atmosphere! I sympatize with you and your LSH about going home.
    But than must be a little break or two after some time 🙂
    Love to do all above,still have a pair of white repetto,soaps in not so tidy warderobe and not bad looking Hermes scarf. And local food is a must!
    And I think that you have more of a pair of handsome pillars in British museum
    We are suffering high temperatures,now around 38°,how was in France?
    Can’t wait my hollidays
    Dottoressa

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Thank you dottoressa. Is there anything in particular you’d like to see from the British museum? We do have a bit of everything and I can try to put together a post just for you. 😊

      Reply
  3. dottoressa

    Dear Lady Sarah,
    Thank you,you’re so nice. Well,let it be your choice. What do you like most?
    I have seen ( of course,you can spend a more than a month there) Greece(poor Greece with those fires and all),Egypt,Early and medieval England and Aphganistan-it was temporary a couple of years ago. I always go to BM and like it very much and always choose one little part to see( and as I now know, thanks to you, that tea on the top floor is so good! ,maybe more than once)
    Have a nice rest of weekend ! We are suffering so high temperatures and I have still one week to go before hollidays 😦
    Thank you
    Dottoressa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

