image

Be prepared – plan to dress for the heatwave and master the art of staying cool in the city. London summers may be short, but thankfully, utterly glorious. Prepare for those hot days, one never knows when they may strike…

Now is the time to get the silk chiffon, the crisp cotton and the cool linen out. Think washable, natural fabrics, light colours and loose shapes. I love summer and my wardrobe used to contain disproportionately large number of summer clothes. My shopping revolved around clothes for a perpetual trip to sunny Santorini. Full of beachwear, rather than summers in the city. Summers in the city do in fact, require a different kind of wardrobe.

I love summer and my wardrobe used to contain disproportionately large number of summer clothes. My shopping revolved around clothes for a perpetual trip to sunny Santorini, full of beachwear, rather than summers in the city. Summers in the city do in fact, require a different kind of wardrobe.

I love summer and my wardrobe used to contain disproportionately large number of summer clothes. My shopping revolved around clothes for a perpetual trip to sunny Santorini, full of beachwear, and not enough real life clothes.

Summers in the city
Wise choices:

1. Loose fit silk or linen trousers. These never go out of fashion, just keep to good tailoring and away from fussy details.

2. Linen or pure cotton shirts (the sleeves rolled up looking non chalant)

3. Silk tops are divine for work. (I just had to train myself to wash them properly and master the near lost  art of ironing)

4. Silk or cotton shift dresses. The spaghetti strap style is a classic but the way to wear them now is with chunky boots or trainers.

5. Boyfriend jeans (destroyed can be good as they let the air circulate) or linen chinos with Breton tops. Summer classics!

6. Buffed & oiled skin. Up the grooming routine. Keep long hair squeaky clean, soft and shiny, bundled up in a loose chignon.

7. French knickers- silk are best.

8. Silk or modal mix scarves. No elaborate knots are necessary, just keep them handy to protect from the sun or as a cover up.

9. Voluminous skirts, these last for many seasons and practically never go out of fashion, just choose a flattering length. Vintage or second hand options are plentiful.

Avoid at all costs – 
1. Skinny jeans. It pains me to see people wearing those on a hot day. It’s like the Victorian corset, returning to haunt us.

2. Anything Polyester & Acrylic will not allow the skin to breathe, therefore will get hot & sticky in no time at all. Check the fabric labels on your clothes people, sometimes these fabrics are hard to distinguish from silk.

3. Leather pants (remember Ross from friends?) or their cousin “faux” leather pants. These can actually give you a nasty heat rash and people have been know to faint in them. Comfort is the mother of finesse people.

4. Talking of comfort and finesse, do not wear hot pants in the city or to work, no matter how hot. It’s uncomfortable for all. (Exception to these are tailored shorts worn with opaque tights, real fashion post coming up)

5. Tourists sometimes take the concept of ‘comfort’ to extremes. Dear London visitors, if you want service when you go to a pub or a restaurant, wear a freshly washed top and clean shoes. No one wants to see gnarly toes and leave the cut-off shorts for other pastimes, (gardening or hiking perhaps.) Remember to dress for the occasion. It makes life so much easier.

6. Personally, I never wear flip flops in the city, because I like to keep my manicured toes intact. The streets of London get very crowded you never know who might tread on yours.

Loose fitting silk shift dresses suit warm weather. Keep a handy cover up, like a denim jacket or a linen cardigan.

Loose fitting silk shift dresses suit warm weather. Keep a handy cover up, like a denim jacket or a linen cardigan. To survive air-conditioned office environment, add flesh coloured hosiery and smart pumps.

For summer I prefer pastels and colours - but then black silk always look tres chic, doesn't it?

For summer I prefer pastels and colours – but then black silk always looks tres chic, doesn’t it? I often wear mine with a plain t shirt underneath.

Relaxed fit, silk trousers are the epitome of comfort and style. I like to keep it simple with a plain white t shirt.

Relaxed fit, silk trousers are the epitome of comfort and style. I like to keep it simple with a plain white t shirt. 

Summer Pattern and silk chiffon.

Summer Pattern and silk chiffon for style and comfort. “Layered” skirts are all the rage, and when this fad is done and dusted with you get two for the price of one. The sheer silk chiffon can become a beach cover up.

A denim jacket is a wardrobe classic, everyone has one somewhere - mine comes out year after year...

A denim jacket is a wardrobe classic, everyone has one somewhere – mine comes out year after year… ( though for work, I also keep a smart linen jacket  as a stand by, at the office.)

Silk satin is always cook, not to be confused with satin polyester which will get hot & unbearably sweaty.

Pure Silk satin is always cool, not to be confused with satin polyester which will get hot & unbearably sweaty. Chunky shoes keep this outfit up to date.

Dream summer bags Bags being one of my on-going obsessions, I like to use straw baskets or something metallic and mildly distressed. That means my beloved Kelly bags get a summer break.

Dream summer bag: my own beloved Kelly's are all dark and get a summer break, as I don't like them with soft floaty clothes.

Dream summer bag: my own beloved Kelly’s are all dark and get a summer break, as I don’t like them with soft floaty clothes.

My own summer bag, is a no brand, handmade basket from Thailand. It was a holiday purchase and only costs a few pounds.

My own summer bag:  a no brand, handmade basket from Thailand. It was a holiday purchase and the cost was just a few pounds.

Another Dream summer bag....

Another Dream summer bag….

So- what are your own wardrobe staples for cool, chic, city living? © Ladysarahinlondon Welcome to the blog of my London adventures & wardrobe fixations   Access to password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Save the Wild Elephant Or rescue a baby elephant!Donate now and save our wildlife from extinction!

11 thoughts on “Fashion update: what to wear in London when it gets hot & humid

  1. Londongal

    What a great post! very good information here, thank you Lady Sarah, just donated the elephant charity, please send me the password so i can read your protected posts.

    Reply
  2. dottoressa

    Couldn’t be said better,exactly my choice! Linen,silk,cotton,with a little cardigan for colder evenings,or V neck
    Straw or woven summer bags are great,I like yours,have one similar myself,but they can be harmfull for outfits,silk especially,don’t you think?
    So , my choice are light leather bags in summer colours,orange Lancel lately, or red Furla
    Hope you are enjoying beautiful summer in London. Last year summer was great when I was there
    Dottoressa.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      The world is divided on the ‘straw bag’ issue- some love them some hate them. I adore them, mine is pretty soft straw so it doesn’t cause damage to light fabrics. It’s also hand held, so it doesn’t rub against the fabric when carried. But yes – you are right some basket bags could cause snags against light cotton or silk clothing.

      Reply
  3. Heidi

    well, I suppose our ideas of summer heat are probably different! Having lived in London I can attest that Summer did indeed feel hot (at times), but it is no compare to our Australian summers. I live in sundresses for around 3-4 months of the year, with sandals and a good pedi. My summer dress criteria is that it needs to be made of natural fibre (cotton is best, linen also good although the creasing can mean you look messy fairly quickly), and have cap sleeves as a preference – the sun protection is needed so I don’t like a spaghetti strap dress during the day. I also like something with a looser cut, anything clingy feels awful fairly quickly. If it’s a little cooler (more London Summer like), lightweight white jeans and a sleeveless silk or cotton top are a bit of a staple.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      We only get a few weeks, ( Maybe even days actually) of really hot weather, and we tend to go wild for them.😃 I think Brits have no real understanding of dressing for hot weather, obviously you guys in Australia are pros. I always have a cover up, like a cardigan or a summer jacket AND un umbrella, ☔️handy, in case it turns, it so often does…

      Reply
  4. jessy

    Timely post since we are having a heatwave right now. I am melting as i type this – with you on the torture of skinny jeans, but where on earth d you find silk and linen clothes? The shops are full of cheap, nasty synthetics….

    Reply
    1. Sue

      Dear Jessy, am I allowed to reply? Brora and Jaeger have loads of items this summer.Jaeger esp has a good selection.I know you don’t really approve of Sales Shopping, Lady Sarah, but I have just bought some Jaeger linen and I’m very pleased with it…xsue

      Reply
      1. jessy

        Thank you Sue! Will have a look, I like sales lol! why doesn’t lady Sarah approve of them?

      2. lady sarah in london Post author

        😃😃😃thank you for the tips Sue- love Brora and I don’t disapprove of sales, heaven forbid, I am just no good at shopping with sales conditions, you know the angry crowds, the messy rails -that sort of thing. Also people tree have certified organic cotton, and top shop boutique pure silk items- reasonably priced.oh and Eileen Fischer has divine silk/linen .

Leave a Reply

