image

We have a wardrobe full of clothes. Many, many clothes. I have wondered if we could interview our clothes – what stories they’d tell! Were they designed with passion and flair? Lovingly made in gorgeous fabrics? By happy people, who love fashion and sew the buttons with finesse?

Statistically speaking, one in 6 people worldwide, are indirectly involved in the fashion industry. Some of the lowest paid and most exploited are women and children. Makes one think doesn’t it? The bargain scored 50% off doesn’t seem so enticing.

But what’s one to do? We like clothes and we love to be well dressed, so the answer is not simple.

image
image
image
image
Do we buy clothes only made in Britain? Do We wear only organic cotton and British wool? And how can We even afford ethical fashion? and is wearing vintage fur ok?

True Cost is a beautifully made, ‘hard hitting’ documentary exposing the stories behind our clothes:
According to Claudia Croft from the Sunday Times Style Supplement:
watch the trailer:
The antidote to brainless Bargain hunting: True Cost

Creating a beautiful wardrobe
# My clothes are (relatively) few, but I aim to buy the best possible quality I can afford. That means I have to slow down, understand quality, research, look at photos, create lookbooks…I am much better put together now, than when I used to buy random things from Zara and H&M every week.

# Wardrobe Maintenance should become an established routine. Proper folding, storing & anti moth sachets. Washing in low temperatures and gentle cycles, eco friendly detergents, and yes – even ironing.

# I ask questions about where my clothes come from. I rarely get a satisfactory answer but keep on asking. People Tree and M&S have a good grip on their supply chain and look into ecological impact and consequences of their decisions. We need to Support this, because we are all responsible for the health of the planet. (Post here)

# Vintage and second hand can be a good option. My view, is that these look best in small doses, (though I have on occasion seen people who can do the vintage look top to bottom and manage to look spectacular.)

# I avoid the sales, for the sake of ‘scorin’ a bargain. (Sales post here)

# no matter how much I like something, do check to see if it could in fact be used in real life, for a minimum of xx times. (Real life post here)

Are you planning to watch the True Cost movie? Any tips you’d like to share on creating a beautiful wardrobe?

© Ladysarahinlondon
Welcome to the blog of London adventures & wardrobe fixations  Access to password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Save the Wild Elephant Or rescue a baby elephant!Donate now and save our wildlife from extinction!

8 thoughts on “FASHION STORIES & True Cost (from quality in our wardrobe series # 3)

  1. dottoressa

    I have read about this film and completely agree with your attitude and whole movement around it. I want to Know what I eat,what I wear,where I live,……and everyone has to start from him/herself.
    I try to buy what I really need/want in best quality I can afford,too.,And not everything I like,we have to learn to enjoy lovely things sometimes like a piece of art or a rose we don’t have to cut it and have,just look !
    I enjoy repeating outfits,I love them and feel good about it. I stopped hoarding my wardrobe( or furniture,or car,or mobile) ,it doesn’t rule my life any more. It just doesn’t feel right any more and I hope that a lot of people would watch this film and start thinking about it( like the book Blink from M.Gladwell,small changes can lead to big ones)

    Reply
  2. couldashouldawoulda9

    I am glad this movie has come out and hope it makes an impact. I don’t shop so much unless I really like it and has a collectible value for me. I stopped boredom shopping a few years ago that has stopped me buying needless tops that only ended up going straight to charity shops anyway. I am now upset that in London I can go to harrods and buy an elephant and yet it’s hard to find cruelty free animal products at their food hall. I’m not vegetarian but am willing to pay for happily reared animals… It’s kind of a warped market out there. Try not to think too much about it BC it’s quite upsetting and depressing.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      There was always plenty of corruption and exploitation in the world. It’s just that now, with the arrival of Internet it’s much easier to reveal it. So the battle against evil 👹 is on going.😇 – we can’t possibly let it get us down.

      Reply
  3. silkpathdiary

    I hope as many people as possible will watch it. It’s the only way to forward. I like to think that having always loved and purchased vintage and second hand clothes since my teen years, I can do more now and in the future. I also make sure my kids clothes get well used – luckily I have 2 daughters and my son has only essential clothes on account of his dislike of new stuff. I feel the better way for all was how things were done in the past, tailors and seamstresses with craftsmen made your clothes and things such as shoes, coats and accessories were investments to be kept for decades with proper maintenance. I hope the tide will turn against fast fashion for good.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Thank you very much silkpath, your blog is an inspiration on the use of vintage. Please do link up with the True Cost movie to promote awareness. I always think awareness is the most important aspect in these things.

      Reply
  4. Heidi

    I’ll definitely be interested to see this. I think though that this is not just about fashion, it’s about consumption in general. Around 12 years ago I worked on a commercial building that was to be 6 star green energy rated (I am an Architect), it was supposed to be highly environmentally friendly. It was such a difficult project – things that are manufactured responsibly and in a non toxic manner but come from the other side of the world so add miles, things that can’t be recycled after end of life but that are necessary to gain energy efficiency elsewhere, things that are made from recycled materials but that use so much energy to actually manufacture them… it’s pretty much the same in every facet of life now. Living ethically in general just means consuming less, buying less and trying to do the best you can with the choices available. I totally agree that fast fashion is a scourge on humanity though. All those enormous wardrobes full of tat that is never worn.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Thanks for the input Heidi. Would love to hear your thoughts when you see the movie. It is true that a lot of environmental initiatives, recycling schemes and “green” measures use more energy, than they save, they are still in their infancy and things should improve as we keep on trying to find better solutions.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

