image

As a student, I took the obligatory year off, (two years actually) to travel and see the world.
The secret to happy travelling is light baggage and heavy wallet, as my father used to say.

Sadly my luggage was heavy, and my wallet was light.

Now that I am older and wiser, things are a little better, as I mastered the art of light packing, I use longchamp le pliage for short journeys, weekends and day trips. For longer journeys, a small wheelie suitcase that packs well and is easily manoeuvrable – an absolute life saver!

Longchamp makes the perfect variety of light, water resistant folding bags, absolutely perfect for travel. Each seasons colour palette more scrumptious than the last.

Longchamp offers a good variety of light, water resistant folding bags, absolutely perfect for travel. Each seasons colour palette more scrumptious than the last.

There are long handled longchamps to go over the shoulder, short handles and even back packs.
Perfect sizes for carefee weekends away. For a few days in Paris, I use a small suitcase and for a forthcoming skiing trip, the larger le pliage should do nicely. Only allowed one piece of small luggage on the plane, so wish me luck.

Handy small accessories to organise cosmetics. Matching umbrellas and document holders.

Handy small accessories to organise cosmetics. I am a sucker for matching umbrellas and document holders.

image

Limited edition le pliage. What fun!

image

imageimage

One of mine! These are so handy - if they get worn longchamp will fix them for you and with a little bit of maintenance they last for ever, practically.

One of mine! These are so handy – if they get worn longchamp will fix them for you and with a little bit of maintenance they last for ever, practically.

Yes yes yes! Just one bag.

Yes yes yes! A traveller rather than a tourist: just one small wheelie bag. Packing cubes are useful, but any net bag will do.

No no no! This much luggage will slow you down and cause misery!

No, no no! This much luggage will slow you down, causing untold misery, and spinal disc compression.

Bon voyage everyone – and enjoy your travelling style!

© Ladysarahinlondon

Thank you for reading!
If you would like Access to password protected posts: To get your password please support our favourite animal charities such as Save the Wild Elephant Or rescuing baby elephants, by making a donation.

12 thoughts on “Travelling light (& colourful)

  1. pgshore

    Here in the U.S., or at least in California, it is considered very impolite to ask for your purchases to be packed into a store-provided bag. In many cities & towns, you are even charged a (small) fee per bag. I have a little collection of Longchamps that travel with me whenever I go shopping. I carry them folded up, origami-style, and it is great fun to see the expression on a clerk’s face when I release the snap and… presto!… up pops a full-sized shopping bag!
    I’d love to find that limited edition one with the birdcage, though… is it still available?

    Reply
      1. pgshore

        Found it on the Longchamps site… I’m tempted! I’d get it if it came in a larger size. Last year I treated myself to a customized one… you pick the handle length, main color, contrasting stripe, hardware (silver, gold, or bronze) and for a bit extra can have it monogrammed. I chose Bilberry with a cream stripe and silver hardware. Quite striking, if I do say so…

  2. Pret A Porter P

    I bought Pliages for 2 of my co-workers one year, and they love them. One of them she has used that bag virtually everyday for the last 2 years and still looks brand new. For me, I’m very happy with my black LeSportsac tote.

    Reply
  3. Virginia Wald

    They are so colorful! I just wish they did not use brown for the handles and top. I have a few LeSportsacs for shopping, especially an all grey one, that I use daily.

    As for travelling light, that never happens for me; I have too many required necessities, but as i rarely travel too far that helps.

    Reply
  4. Missfrankiecat

    Even better I find is the French brand Herve Chapelier, who produce very similar bags but in a more limited range of styles and generally contrasting two colour options with a few seasonal prints. The material is sturdier than Longchamps (I find the corners and bottoms do wear if you travel a lot), although the canvas (as opposed to leather) handles are less popular with some people. Susan, London

    Reply

Leave a Reply

