I like to pay taxes. With them I buy civilization.

Favourite quote: I like to pay taxes. With them I buy civilisation.

It’s that time of year. Tax returns have to be completed and large chunks of money fleeing my account for HMRC (so that you know that’s Her Majesty’s Revenue & Customs).

lady Sarah’s tax tips:
You gotta be kidding! Get a good accountant, and pay with a smile.
I like to pay taxes. With them I buy civilisation
Have you done your tax return yet? Is it a trauma or a joy to behold?
Enjoy paying your taxes everyone!

The first time I paid tax, right after university, I pretty much cried with sorrow. "What a waste!" I thought. "All that lovely money, think of all the shoes we could buy"  it was my dear father - wise man - who pointed out, "if you want hospitals when you are sick, schools for every kid to go to, as well as safe streets, to walk about- pay your taxes. '

The first time I paid my taxes , I pretty much cried with sorrow. “What a waste! All that lovely money, think of all the great shoes we could buy”  though to be fair, taxes can pay for some other great things: “hospitals for the sick, schools for every kid to go to, as well as safe streets, to wear those shoes in. ”  all the trappings.

6 thoughts on “London delights: the annual tax return

  1. Ali

    Bless!! I love this. Great attitude ☺️ So true. I do however admit to being incredulous my first few pay cheques t😉 lovely silver slippers! Happy New Year to you Sarah.
    Ali

    Reply
  2. Virginia

    We have until April 15th, and my household usually receives a refund! Yea!! Just enough to get gravel added to our driveway, and other rural necessities! Hope your bill is not too big this year.

    Reply
  3. Faux Fuchsia

    I don’t feel I get much bang for my buck tax wise in this country. The rate is practically 50% and I’d never send my kid to a state school or attend a public hospital. I do however love driving on a road and I want people like nurses to be paid. So there’s that.

    Reply
    1. lady sarah in london Post author

      Very true, and I would not want to live in a country with no free hospitals and/or schools, whether I used them or not. Despite all the present criticism, the NHS in this country does a superb job, and God knows where we’d be without A&E.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

