Simple taste plume

‘Sarah likes simplicity”, my LSH (long suffering husband) states succinctly, with no hint of irony.  simple taste. ‘Sarah simply likes things to be perfect. ‘ This is in fact a curse and the path to pure unhappiness, so if you share my tendencies, for the sake of your own sanity, it is suggested you try to curb them.

Whoever designed the Hermès plume, back in the days, achieved that delicate balance of simplicity with perfection. This bag is perfect, there are no extra frou frou things, hanging, tassels, zips, studs and what have you. It is unlined, handmade from the best possible leather and then as a final flourish, it is turned inside out so the stitching is invisible. It’s a retourner!
The proportions adhere to the golden section and it is ridiculously practical for real life. Result!

The making of an Hermes plume, handmade and turned inside out! A true retourne...

The making of an Hermes plume, handmade and turned inside out! A true retourner…


It’s a quiet bag that whispers. The stamp is on the inside only and no matter how hard I tried, it is simply not possible to carry the bag in such a way as to show it. Ha!

The plume is not famous like its sisters the bouncy Birkin and the eclectic Kelly, but it has its fans. Are you a member of the plume fun club?

Plume inspiration & random facts

Simple & smooth on the outside, but inside delicacy patience and consideration are required to discover its hidden depths.

Simple & smooth on the outside, but inside delicacy patience and consideration are required to discover its hidden depths.

The plume has a simple form, inspired by a b,a key holder used by travellers in the 1920's.

The plume has a simple form, inspired from a blanket holder used by travellers in the 1920’s.

As one of hermes' first bags in soft unlined leather it has earned itself a light and airy name. Plume, the feather...

As one of hermes’ first bags in soft unlined leather it has earned itself a light and airy name. Plume, the feather…

The du hammam

The plume is my favourite travelling bag. Easy to use, light and discreet.

Hermes plume rouge h chamomix

Any interesting plume photos? Please send then in...

Any interesting plume photos? Please send them in…

I’ve had my plume for a while now, so it fully qualifies as classic wardrobe staple. It still looks practically new. Once a year or so, it goes through a handbag home spa.

More from the ‘homage to the classics’ series… , distressed denim , the CHANEL jacket, the ultimate trench
Classic beat up distressed denim jacket Classic CHANEL jacket Classic trench
© Ladysarahinlondon

18 thoughts on “Homage to the classics: Hermès plume

      1. Coulda shoulda woulda

        Rouge laque 45 relax so I can stuff things in it and not so formal and I can get it to sit on my shoulder only just though. Do you remember their sac en v which looked like the plume but fatter? That was very useful bc it looked like a bag but fit so many things in and never got weighed at airports. Useful for cheap Ryanair or easy jet flights!

  1. Virginia

    Love your plume in Paris! Thanks so much for including details of the construction process. It is a very understated Hermes, but beautifully made. I am very excited to be receiving my first plume in rose dragee; wish I knew how to attach a pic.

    Reply
  2. mobcouture

    You make me want to investigate a Plume! But I’ve always felt a shoulder strap was a must…do you ever wish you could shoulder carry this?

    Reply
  3. Leslie

    I had a white Plume, but sold it as I was always afraid of carrying it and getting it dirty….seemed silly for it to be doomed to a life on my closet shelf. I would love to get another one some day in a more practical color as I love the shape and roominess of the bag. I miss mine, just not the color.

    Reply
  4. Monica

    I’ve loved the Plume since I saw your photo with it! Indeed, it’s simple perfection. Quite possibly my favourite Hermes bag. For the moment it’s out of my budget, but on my long-term wish list…

    Reply
    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      Thanks Mon! It’s more the simplicity of it rather than anything else that I like. And the weight. Virtually no weight. You d think it’d be easy to find a bag like that, but I haven’t found a good alternative.

      Reply
      1. silkpathdiary

        Yes it is too big for my needs on a daily basis and so is used for travel and odd occasions when I am required to take the kitchen sink 😉 The roomiest I use is a K32 day to day.

Leave a Reply

