London delights: Eating outdoors in autumn season

My friend Antonia, who is Italian, thinks we are completely mad, but Londoners love eating outdoors during the cool autumn months.

My friend Antonio, who is Italian thinks we are completely mad, but Londoners love eating outdoors.

I ve been known to sit outside in the rain, holding my umbrella, savouring a bowl of pumpkin soup. (Wrapped up of course, that’s what cashmere scarves are for!) Delicious seasonal food. Daylesford, in Pimlico is one of my favourite outdoor lunchtime tables, highly recommended to catch those precious minutes of autumn sunshine. What do you know they have even opened a branch in Tokyo now…

Seasonal food

Organic & seasonal eating is the best. No GM, no intensive farming, yes fresh, yes seasonal pumpkin, blackberries, fennel, beet root...

Organic & seasonal eating is the best. No GM, no intensive farming, yes fresh, yes seasonal pumpkin, blackberries, fennel, beet root…yes to real food.

8 thoughts on “London delights: Eating outdoors in autumn

  1. Virginia

    Very interesting London tidbit! I’m not so sure about in the rain, but I enjoy outside dining whenever it’s not too brisk. And the organic pumpkin soup sounds delicious!

    Reply
  2. gsl64

    Lady Sarah,
    On this side of the pond that autumnal al fresco move is called ‘Tailgating’. Do the boys over at Daylesford have baby-back ribs?

    Reply
  3. choosewellbuyfew

    Yes, always outside eating!

    I have a question to you as a handbaggenious! I have found a vintage hermes kelly from 1970 in excellent contition but I do think the price is a little high, 3800pounds. What do you think?

    Reply
  4. happyface313

    🙂 I’m always surprised to what kind of temperatures Londoners and the English in general can take. Although I like the idea of sitting outside and enjoying lunch or coffee, if it’s too cool you’ll find me inside 🙂
    Have a very HAPPY day! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

