CHANEL 224

Do you have a favourite handbag? One that you love using, a pleasure to handle and a delight to look at.

The sort of bag, we actually use, an easy, go-to bag, rather than just the one we’d like to simply have stashed in the wardrobe. One of my favourites, the colours are perfect for my wardrobe and suits my lifestyle. (More here & here)

Looking after my beloved handbags is practically a religious experience, I have dedicated handbag maintenance days. Nothing elaborate you understand, simple care is usually best. A nicely kept handbag is a compliment to our appearance, (they can also Β cost significant amounts of money,) it makes sense to maintain good shape.

CHANEL reissue 224 in silver. Almost every season CHANEL brings out a variation of this. The metallic is slightly different colour and finish, the hardware combination varies a little. Gold, antique, gold, silver, ruthenium...

CHANEL reissue 224 in silver. Almost every season CHANEL brings out a variation of this. The metallic is slightly different colour and finish, the hardware combination varies a little. Gold, antique, gold, silver, ruthenium…

This photo shows the scale better. It's in luscious black Lambskin with gold hardware.

This photo taken at the CHANEL boutique ( please excuse the cc overload!) shows the scale better. It’s in luscious black Lambskin with gold hardware. The one I have is dark blue with ruthenium hardware , a combo which works well in my wardrobe.

Enjoy your weekend and your handbag. One of the simple (though not necessarily inexpensive!) pleasures in life… So, favourite handbags anyone?

30 thoughts on “Handbag favourites #1 (London style)

  1. gsl64

    Lady Sarah,
    Your handbag selections are superb. Not only refined elegance but also well sized. You really don’t need to lug around a drug store aisle of primp product for a night out.
    Size matters.

    Reply
  2. Coulda shoulda woulda

    The crazy thing is I have this tote I got for free and it is that synthetic material like I the pliage made by long champ and it just gets the job done. While I do like chanel I find that they still don’t offer proper after care a big hinderance for me hence why I like hermes as they have that service but those Chanel bags are just so great for night and day.

    Reply
  3. Virginia

    What a prefect post for National Handbag Day. And thanks to some marvelous influence, (ahem, Lady Sarah) I am now indulging in the pleasure of Chanel lambskin bags, and worshipping the two I have. I have decided that until the day I get that Hermes Kelly, Chanel will be my go to preference! Thank goodness for all the great re-sale sites, as I think I will have to go there fore my next “fix”.

    Reply
      1. Virginia

        Oh goodness! No blame, just positive influence! I am loving my new dark red camera bag right now and get compliments on her all the time.

      2. ladysarahinlondon Post author

        Camera bags are very practical and your It’s a lovely sophisticated red. I think it works with so many things, and it’s beautiful. Can you fit everything you need in there?

      1. Pret a Porter P

        I go through phases, esp since I somehow end up buying 2-3 bags a year or I “ruin” things. The ones that get used the most are my big totes. Right now it’s the handsome LeSportsac for school days, and my (can’t believe it’s) F21 (“chanel grand tote” esque) bag, since I bought those this year.

      1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

        Ah, I only know of European/London/Paris places, and I was planning a special post on them. You have to be very very careful and it’s best to be able to inspect them in person. Whatever people may say, the majority of the time you can tell a fake from the real thing in person. Do you have a current favourite bag?

      2. Bonnie B.

        I wish I could post a picture of my fave bag. It’s about 60 years old and was one of my Mum’s favourites. A treasure

      3. ladysarahinlondon Post author

        Oh lovely! Vintage quality is hard to beat. They don’t make them how they used to, and yours sounds extra special! A true family heirloom. πŸ™‚ lucky girl.

  4. Lucy

    My all time favourite bag, is probably my old mulberry, had it for years. The quality is amazing, they are made in England, plus i can throw them about during my commute, and nothing bad seems to happen to them. I don’t like delicate bags.

    Reply
  5. Cressida K

    Hard to pick a favourite, but the one I use the most and has earned its keep is a vintage tote, I bought second hand from Victory Vintage at Whitleys… I thought it was ridiculous at the time to spend that much on a second hand bag, but the quality was very high.

    Reply
      1. silkpathdiary

        Know what you mean and that’s why I held off until this year but it’s too useful and I just got another in purple chevre to offset the classic a bit πŸ™‚

  6. Mina

    My all time favourite bag is an ethnic type hobo -from Gujurat. I used it a lot for weekends and travel, its beginning to fall apart. πŸ™‚ I love your handbag choices though, very urbane chic. How do I access the handbag maintenance post? its password protected.

    Reply
    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      Oh my goodness, I don’t have any maintenance tips for Gujarat bags. They have very intricate embroidery and little mirrors don’t they? You can access all password protected posts by making a donation to save the wild elephants here: http://savetheelephants.org/donate/ email me the pay pal receipt and you get the password. Go on ! it’s for an excellent cause….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

