Organise the underwear drawer people...

It has been said, by the great thinkers of our time, that the state of our underwear drawer is a direct reflection of the state of our mind. (Just kidding of course! None of the great thinkers actually said that- Though perhaps they should have done…)

A well organised underwear collection saves time dressing, AND you should not even even know you are wearing anything restrictive. Well fitting bras, that do not pinch, pure cotton pants, that do NOT ride and have to be permanently adjusted. Soft, seam free camisoles, in wool/silk mix for winter or cotton/silk for summer. Good underwear can make you feel divine, they are a secret to be revealed only to special people.

Lady Sarah’s steps to underwear perfection
#1. Always Start with a good, old fashioned clear out. Get all the underwear out, make a pile Eliminating anything old or just plain uncomfortable. There is usually an excellent reason, why we avoid wearing something. Letting go is part of the process.

Take everything out- I clean the empty drawer with toxic free cleaners. Ecover is great, I also like to put a couple of drops of cedarwood oil in my wardrobe

Take everything out- I clean the empty drawer with toxic free cleaners and like to put a couple of drops of pure essential oil in my wardrobe

#2. Clean the empty drawer with toxic free cleaners. Ecover is great. I like to put a couple of drops of cedarwood oil in my wardrobe, my sister prefers paper drawer liners. Small compartments are a requirement to keep things tidy, I had my wardrobe custom made with small drawers, but anyone can install inexpensive separators, or use boxes. If one is hoping to keep a sense of order, draw dividers are essential!

#3. Take an inventory. How many pairs of pants and bras does one need? Rumour has it most people hang on, to old misshapen bras for far too long. About two years of regular wear, is their healthy lifespan. Everyone has a different idea of how much is enough, but consider the space you have allocated to store them. If it’s overflowing, you need to cut back, before chaos prevails…

 I mostly wear organic black cotton for the autumn/winter season and pale pink/nude for spring /summer. This degree of austerity, may not suit everyone but keeping a small, well edited collection makes life easier.

I mostly wear organic black cotton for the autumn/winter season and pale pink/nude for spring /summer. This degree of austerity, may not suit everyone but keeping a small, well edited collection makes life simple.

#4. Fold everything. (Yes fold! I actually iron mine, sorry!) and arrange by colour or shape. In my own drawer everything is simple. I mostly wear organic black cotton for the autumn/winter season and pale pink/nude for spring /summer. This degree of austerity, may not suit everyone but it’s best to keep a small, manageable collection and replace as needed. Arrange bras, folded, so cups sit within each other. In my teens and early youth, all my underwear was a jumbled mess in a massive drawer that was too deep to keep tidy. That may also be a valid method, that works for you- but to be honest, glad to have outgrown that phase…

#5. Make a list of what additions you need and visit in person some decent lingerie shops. These things are very personal, you gotta try them on! Go for quality (step away from PRIMARK!) but consider real life requirements. I have, in the past, been seduced, so to speak, into buying pretty, silky underwear that were outrageously impractical, expensive and high maintenance for my lifestyle, so bear that in mind and take the list of what you actually need. You may add frou frou stuff later.. (a little bit of glamour never hurt anyone.)

#6. Once you find a style you like, up the maintenance and look after them with love and a gentle hand. I machine wash, fold and iron cotton knickers in the hot setting (always choose pure cotton gusset, more comfortable & hygienic.) Bras technically should be handwashed, but as I can not possibly be bothered, I machine wash in net bags, with pretty good results. Dryers will significantly shorten the lifespan of your underwear, always hang to dry.

#7. As final note of delight, stuff a scented soap in the draw to keep everything smelling lovely. Review collection next year!

Pat yourself on the back -hello organised underwear drawer and goodbye chaos. I may not have much control about what horrid things go on in the world, but I can organise my knickers god damnit….

Keep a consistent colour palette makes choosing underwear a breeze... Drawer dividers are essential to keep law & order.

Keep a consistent colour palette, it makes choosing underwear a breeze… Drawer dividers are essential to maintain a sense of law & order.

How to fold fancy lingerie credit: http://www.imperfecthomemaking.com/2011/10/organizedhome-day-14-sock-drawer-101.html

How to fold your fancy lingerie, (cupped bra) – credit: http://www.imperfecthomemaking.com/2011/10/organizedhome-day-14-sock-drawer-101.html

send me your photos of fabulously organised real life underwear drawers! real life fashion loungewear post coming up.

What is your favourite organic cotton underwear brand? Bras will generally have at least some synthetic content, do you mind that at all?Β 

Limited colour palette may not suit everyone. A friend of mine who is a super duper international lawyer has to dress conservatively at work . She makes up for it, by wearing the most outlandish underwear I have ever seen... She would not give me her permission to post photos though... Not even anonymously.

Limited colour palette may not suit everyone. A friend of mine who is a super duper international lawyer has to dress conservatively at work. She makes up for it, by wearing the most outlandish colourful underwear in lace & silk. She would not give me her permission to post photos though… Not even anonymously. Spoilsport!

Neatly folded but you can also store underwear rolled. This drawer is A joy to behold. What sort of person keeps their undies this tidy?

Neatly folded socks & knickers, but you can also store underwear rolled. This drawer is an absolute joy to behold. What sort of person keeps their undies this tidy?

More wardrobe maintenance posts:
Cashmere care washing & storing
cashmere knitwear care

CHANEL 224
perfect handbags
How to look immaculate
Immaculate clothes
Lady Sarahs wardrobe
Well edited wardrobe
Β© Ladysarahinlondon

25 thoughts on “Wardrobe maintenance: the (organised) underwear drawer & and how to guide.

  1. Cressida K

    really inspiring post lady Sarah. I have been waiting for something like this as you promised it a while ago . πŸ™‚ I shall tackle the underwear drawer this weekend!

    Reply
  2. Bonnie B

    I’m off to sort out my panty drawer. There is a shop close to me that sells drawer dividers. Thanks for the terrific ideas.

    Reply
      1. Bitten

        I don’t know – I just know I went and bought some lovely new knickers today and am sorting my lingerie drawer this weekend! I wish I could get drawer dividers like that, I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled πŸ™‚

  3. Susan Lowell

    I have never seen drawer dividers like this. Fantastic. I desperately need this type of organization.

    Do you purchase these dividers and install them in to the drawer? Please advise.
    Susan

    Reply
    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      I had the drawers custom made with small compartments, but you can buy add on dividers from lingerie shops, organisation shops, John Lewis ( if you are uk based) lots of places stock them. And come to think of it it’s better, as I am stuck with my configuration and can’t change it, whilst if you buy them as add on, you can chop and change as your needs dictate.

      Reply
  4. liz

    As I couldn’t sleep last night I was wondering why my bras felt uncomfortable .So I got myself measured and lo and behold I was wearing tthe wrong size.I have been going to the gym a little more often .Then I read your post so I cleared away all that doesn’t fit.It looks a little bare but it all fits ! thanks to you.

    Reply
  5. Lucy

    lady Sarah what a marvellous post! my favourite organic underwear is skin. Have you heard of them? thank you for all the inspiration by the way…. love all your wardrobe maintenance series, how do I get the password for the handbags posts?

    Reply
  6. Virginia

    Your underwear drawers are the envy of all who gaze upon them! So splendidly done. Being a color nut, almost all mine are full of prints, bright colors, and black. If I could find navy undies I like, I’d have those too!

    Reply
  7. silkpathdiary

    Excellent! That’s the way to do it πŸ™‚ Believe it or not, my drawers of undies/hose/socks and sleep wear fit neatly into a bedside cabinet type unit. That’s not to say the contents themselves are neat – must sort them all out before Winter sets in properly!

    Reply
  8. rosegarden

    Dear sarah,

    I hope this is not too forward to ask, but from which company is this beautiful peachy nude lacy bra? I’ve been looking for such a style and haven’t found any yet.

    Thank you.

    Reply
  9. ginger girl

    dear lady Sarah, I just moved into my new student digs in London, the room is absolutely tiny and the wardrobe has no drawers. do you have any tips how to organise pants & bras? πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      If there are no drawers and you cannot buy a small dresser, try a shallow box under the bed! A large shallow box and organise into compartments, pants, socks, bras etc. buy just a few things, but enough not to keep having to do laundry more than once a week. Xxx all the best

      Reply
  10. Pingback: Closet Resolutions: 2015 | Silk Path Diary

  11. Red lingerie

    Hello everybody, here every one is sharing these kinds of
    familiarity, so it’s nice to read this website, and I used to
    pay a quick visit this blog all the time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

