image My motto when it comes to packing: never carry a suitcase bigger than you are. But for short summer city breaks or beach/pool holidays one needs very little for looking soigné.

What with the nightmares at airport security, so glad we are going by train. A few days summer holiday in France- by eurostar – and wish me luck so we don’t get stuck in the tunnel. Tickets are bought, hotels are booked and now is packing time.

As we used to travel a lot , I ve got a 'professional' suitcase stand. I make lists for every trip and use 'packing tubes' to keep things neat & tidy.

As we used to travel a lot , I ve got a ‘professional’ suitcase stand. I write down  lists for every trip and use ‘packing tubes’ to keep things neat & tidy.

As we used to before packing, I put everything out in plain sight. (Silk underwear and faux diamonds, being those Paris essentials...)

… before packing,, I put everything out in plain sight and refer to my lists. Each trip has different requirements. (Silk underwear and ‘faux’ diamonds, being my little Paris essentials…)

As we used to travel a lot , I ve got a 'professional' suitcase stand. I make lists, and put everything out in plain sight. My travelling outfit is on a separate hanger.

The  ‘professional’ luggage stand. (a chair will do) keeps the suitcase the right height, so I can take my time packing and unpacking. I learned to make lists, ( which I keep inside the suitcase, to remind me what I used in the last trip) and put everything out in plain sight. Then I edit!! My travelling outfit, trench, top, & shoes – all ready on a separate hanger.

Packing list for 2 nights in Paris + 7 nights in Provence The essentials: Silk underwear. (This is Paris ok? Don’t go for polyester it’s not the same) Pearls or diamonds (fake ones of course!) faux jewellery is stylish, but fake fashion, is tacky and these are the facts. Don’t go to Paris without really good underwear, (undies) and most importantly, never go carrying a fake ‘designer’ bag! (Here) Either could cause you embarrassing delays at customs…to say the least.

The city outfits: Spare pair of boyfriend jeans (loose fit is best for hot weather) 1 pair of shorts (treat with care, some cultures cannot handle hotpants and find them shocking, it’s important not to offend.) 2 shirts (one silk /one linen) 2 cotton/linen tops (or largescarves to make up as tops.) 1 cashmere cardigan (for chilly evenings) 1 linen shift dress (I use the CHANEL flip flops as evening shoes for ease) 1 evening clutch (a clutch can really lend a simple pair of jeans+silk shirt outfit an aura of effortless dressing up.) 1 maxi dress

At the pool: 2 bikinis 1 beach pool cover up 1 set of yoga wear Waterproof & stylish Flip flops for the hotel lounge/spa Straw hat.

Now it's the time to use those sample sachets cluttering up my bathroom. France has an over abundance of pharmacies selling the best cosmetics in the world, so I use that as stocking up trip. French soaps are divine.

Now it’s the time to use those sample sachets cluttering up my bathroom.

Extras: iPhone+charger / Hair brush / Lavender oil for motion sickness.

Cosmetics & personal items Now it’s the time to use those sample sachets cluttering up my bathroom. I usually request mini sizes and samples when Updating my beauty box. France has an over abundance of pharmacies selling the best cosmetics in the world, so I use that as stocking up trip. French soaps are divine.

Most good hotels will provide toothbrushes, and what have you. At home I use an electric toothbrush, but for short trips abroad, don’t bother packing anything like that. The voltage system tends to be different anyway, so no electrical things (no hair ironed either, I give it a break). (except the iPhone and to be honest, wish I had the discipline to leave that behind, but how would I update this blog without it?)

Yes yes yes! Just one bag.

Yes yes yes! A traveller rather than a tourist: just one small wheelie bag. Packing cubes are useful, but any net bag will do.

No no no! This much luggage will slow you down and cause misery!

No, no no! This much luggage will slow you down, causing untold misery, and spinal disc compression.

For the train journey I wear jeans, comfy walking shoes, (not trainers) and carry a light weight trench and a scarf. (this is France after all, scarves are compulsory.) Everything fits in a tiny wheelie suitcase, with room to spare. As my wardrobe is already paired down, travelling clothes & colour palettes are easy to put together.

Tip for chronic over packers: – break down your trip into ‘activities’, for example, sight seeing, shopping, eating out etc to list what you really need lug around with you. (Things can be washed easily enough) no just in case items, no uncomfortable clothes or shoes you can’t walk in, should ever be packed. (More here) Will update with photos of the trip, but my LSH (Long Suffering Husband) is yelling at me, to get off the Internet and do something useful…

Bon voyage to me and anyone else travelling

Don't forget!

Don’t forget!

16 thoughts on “Travelling light: packing time (Paris with extra nights in Provence)

    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      Thank you, though the photo is not my packing (it’s my photo) but I don’t pack as neatly as that. What do you take me for? 🙂 hope you are having a great time in Austria, xxx

      Reply
  1. Animalcouriers

    Have a spiffing time in France! Serious thought is to be congratulated. Weather has been a bit iffy so if you have a stylish over garment it might be prescient to consider 😉

    Reply
  2. silkpathdiary

    Excellent! I definitely need more practise to make perfect 🙂 I tend to leave my jeans at home and use my comfy tailored pants instead. I adore French pharmacies too!
    Bon voyage!

    Reply
  3. Virginia

    Wow, were I ever to go on a trip, would you come pack for me? Just kidding but a lovely job, and have a divine time eating, drinking and visiting! Look forward to your next post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

