Homage to the classics: the denim JacketDenim jackets come in many guises and get better as they age, an ambition for us all. A broken in piece, softened in the wash, faded in the sun, and a little worn here and there. The French may have given us Coco CHANEL and her elegant  jackets, but the Americans came up with the quintessential classic wardrobe staple.

Distressed denim and jackey

Most of us have a version of this somewhere stashed in the wardrobe. who would have thought of it? what started as a utilitarian top for cowboys and miners n the late 1800’s became a wardrobe classic! Classic brands include Levis, Lee, Wrangler… These days every design house brings out an interpretation of the denim jacket, so really all that matters is what you like. My personal rule where denim jackets are concerned, is that I don’t like them to look brand new. I love the comfort of a broken in piece, softened in the wash, faded in the sun, and a little worn in places. My preference is to do my own distressing with time, not so keen on the artificially distressed look, so I do like tough and organic denim.

Like all true classics, they go with everything- practically. Check out that you have created your most flattering silhouette with your denim jacket and enjoy the carefree wear.

What are your own real life wardrobe classics? You know those clothes we can actually wear…on  a daily basis, and make us feel good.

© Ladysarahinlondon
Sent from my iPad

Random denim jacket inspiration
image

Going shopping? Check this post in detail.

17 thoughts on “Homage to the classics: Denim Jacket (no. 2 in a wardrobe series)

  1. hungryhungryhippo404

    I’m hopeless at breaking in denim jackets. I just get frustrated too easily and give up and have my lovely denim jacket staring me in the face every time I open my wardrobe door. How long do you find it normally takes to break in a jacket in the old fashioned way of just wearing it?

    Reply
    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      After a couple of washes (and a roll in a haystack,) it should start loosing the ‘brand neweness’, so no worries. To get true character, it may take years, but you can always look into second hand. I ve had mine, the one in the photo, for about 6 years, though it was a pale faded colour to start with, so cheated a little… 🙂

      Reply
      1. hungryhungryhippo404

        Ok, I can do this. I’ve got a lovely denim jacket which I haven’t really worn and it’s going to be my mission to finally break the damn thing in! 🙂

      2. ladysarahinlondon Post author

        Exactly! Denim jackets allegedly get magic powers as you use them… See Philipas message. They go with everything and you will look divine… I can just see you with the balerina skirt and the denim jacket.

      3. hungryhungryhippo404

        Ha, I sure hope so! And I’m still searching for the perfect ballerina skirt. Any tips for where one might be lurking in London? I’m not having much luck here in Australia.

      4. ladysarahinlondon Post author

        Not familiar with Australian shops, but London is currently infested with ballerina skirts. All the shops have a version, top shop, french connection, zara… These are quite nice https://www.repetto.com/uk/#1 but I think it’s very hard to buy on line – impossible to judge how they will fit you. If I were you, I’d try one of the dance shops, that sell practice clothes for dancers. Do you have a shop like that close by?

      5. hungryhungryhippo404

        Hmm I hadn’t thought of trying out the dance shops! Definitely worth a shot. And thanks for the link, I’m going to check it out now! 🙂

  2. Virginia

    Ooh, I love your denim styled with your Carven floral top! Thanks for the comment about denim as an American classic. We are the home of casual wear! My denim does not meet any of your criteria, I’m sorry to say. Dark wash and a bit of stretch and shape with my jacket, no fading yet.

    Reply
  3. happyface313

    Oh, this reminds me to dig out mine… 😉 But it has just started to rain cats and dogs, so I guess I can leave it another couple of days.
    Denim jackets are great and can be worn with nearly anything – at least that’s how I wear mine! 🙂

    Reply
    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      Yes they go with pretty much everything, if it’s the right silhouette. I love mine with silk summer dresses, or over chunky knitwear. Wore it today actually with a cashmere dress as it wasn’t that cold in London.

      Reply
  4. Philippa

    My denim jacket may once have saved my life. It certainly saved me from getting severe burns on my back. There were a few scorch marks visible on the inside of the jacket afterwards, but fifteen years later they have disappeared in the wash. I have also slept in my denim jacket, one extremely cold camping holiday when I bundled it on over a cashmere jumper on top of my pyjamas every night to stop my teeth from chattering.

    It is Helmut Lang, with long turn-back cuffs, which are no longer fashionable but I wouldn’t change them for the world. It was £150 from Liberty, the most expensive item of clothing I had ever bought, splashed out on during my gap year. (I should have been saving all my pennies from my deathly temping job to go travelling, but I was much more interested in clothes.) I pull it out every time the denim wheel turns, and it still has magic powers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

