Countdown to Valentines day: feel the eco & green love (Love thy environment and be gentle with the world)
Loving my home with gentle cleaning products.

Love thy environment and be gentle with our world

Whatever else you may be doing this Valentines, do switch to cleaning the home with loving, non-toxic cleaners. Something that is not going to harm the marine life, kill the bees, pollute water and cause general mayhem and destruction.

It used to be that domestic eco cleaners were not as good, as main stream, but that is no longer the case. They are in fact better as they clean without destroying my property (delicate antique china with Gilding! Sterling silver flatware, china mugs from the reject shop, they all prefer gentle treatment) and without ruining my beautiful hands. In fact if anyone suffers from annoying eczema, skin sensitivities or occasional respiratory problems, would do well to ditch the bleach and switch to something like ecover, for general cleaning round the house, machine washing clothes and dishwasher tablets.

Ecover has Mild washing liquid for safe & effective machine washes

Ecover range is extensive and includes  a really good Mild washing liquid for safe & effective machine washes

Ecover is widely available in uk supermarkets, but there are other good brands, (if so inclined and have the time make your own. Here. Never tried ito make them myself, as I find ecover, very good and convenient, but I have it on good authority that home made products work well…)

Ingredients to avoid at all costs:
Chlorinated phenols
Diethylene glycol
Phenols
Nonylphenol ethoxylate
Formaldehyde
Petroleum solvents
Perchloroethylene,
Butyl cellosolve,
ingredients in many standard domestic cleaners are destroying our eco system – closer to home are  linked to clinical depression, severe damage to the liver, kidneys and nervous system. Some, are even suspected carcinogens. So I’d rather not have them in my house.

Air fresheners
The majority of Air fresheners are also notoriously toxic, look into pure aromatherapy oil alternatives, to gently perfume the air – as well as purify from harmful bacteria and viruses. (Aromatherapy oils of the highest quality from Fragrant Earth) lots of recipes & ideas with aromatherapy oils from here 

This is a treasure of a book which I use all the time for reference.

This is a treasure of a book which I use all the time for reference.

I’ve got Valerie’s book and it’s got enough info to keep me going for years- practically . Will post a couple of recipes for you, after I finish cleaning.
Much love to you and the environment.

lady Sarah’s delightful DIY air freshener: a few drops of orange+geranium+ 1 drop benzoin. Added to water in a small room diffuser. If you can’t get benzoin oil, try replacing with cypress. Personally I don’t like the smell of frankicense so I left it out of Valerie’s recipe.  This fragrance has very warming, welcoming feel, and will clean & purify…

Adapted from Valerie's 'fragrant pharmacy'. The best air fresheners will make the home a healthier place.

Adapted from Valerie’s ‘fragrant pharmacy’. The best air fresheners will make the home a healthier place.

For eco friendly and delightfully ethical clothes shopping post: here

For cashmere & wool green cleaning here

Green kitchen...

My Green kitchen…I  have to go & clean it now.

2 thoughts on “Countdown to Valentines day: feel the eco & green love (Love thy environment and be gentle with the world)

  1. happyface313

    Thanks for your advice! I was never quite sure if these products really do their job. Now I know that I can go and purchase them 🙂
    Have a HAPPY – cleaning? – weekend! 🙂

    Reply
  2. ladysarahinlondon Post author

    We’ve used Ecover brand for a few years now, as it’s easy to find and very good. I don’t have the time to make my own cleaners from scratch, but I do most of my own house cleaning. It s pretty relaxing actually. 🙂 if you do switch to eco would love to know what you think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

