Christmas in London: Gigantic tree decorated with hampers - and staying sane.
St Pancras station – gigantic Christmas tree decorated with famous Fortnum Hampers,  absolutely spectacular….

It gets crazy, -crazy busy -this time of year, doesn’t it? I try to enjoy things, rather than let it all become one long & tiresome to do list. Tomorrow, – six invitations. two of which, are impossible to refuse…
Christmassy things are wonderful though, so posting this gigantic tree for you to enjoy with me. Instead of baubles, it’s been decorated with the famous Fortnum & Mason Hampers, and is absolutely spectacular – will get you singing Christmas carols, in no time. If you are in London, near St Pancras, drop by, to enjoy in person. Fortnums used to be, our go to place, for Hampers, tea and delectable food gifts, but after their refusal to remove Foie gras from their stores, this custom will be reviewed. Thoughtful Christmas gifts anyone? (here)

imageimage
imageimage
Photos snapped with my iPhone at St Pancras station, on my way back from Paris business trip on Eurostar, (where I did a little restorative shopping). Post coming soon.

On the plus side, after my much needed hair and beauty appointments, (see post) I look practically divine. If you haven’t had your beauty and hair appointments sorted already, book now, as no matter how busy, the world is a better place, after a hair appointment. Yoga of course is good too, but who has time to go to class this time of year? (Get this app here to try 10 min yoga every morning)

Must go, still have work to finish, before getting ready for dinner, catch up soon.

Sent from my iPad

9 thoughts on “Christmas in London: Gigantic tree decorated with hampers – and staying sane.

  1. Tabitha

    What an amazing tree! My husband who loves foie gras just announced last week that he was done with it, I was really surprised, I think it’s the right thing to do. Fortnums did me an amazing favour last year, best ever, it involved a long distance taxi, that’s all I’m saying, I love that store.
    I have returned to the blog, hanging my head after all my drama.

    Reply
    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      Fortnum’s is a great place and their customer service is 2nd to none. Perhaps, it is time to modernise certain things a little, just because they have been selling foie gras for 100 years it doesn’t mean they have to continue. I don’t eat the stuff myself, as I don’t eat battery farmed eggs, or commercially raised chicken, but no condemning anyone who does. There are worse things happening.
      Lovely to hear from you again.

      Reply
  2. Virginia

    Very interesting tree. As an American unfamiliar with the delights of F & M, I am curious to know if hampers (filled I assume) are a regular Christmas gift in London?

    Reply
    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      Yes! Hampers filled with food are traditional Christmas gifts and Fortnums hampers are famous and have a reputation to be the best. We just got a little one send by one of my husbands work associates actually, will post a photo. Lady Beatrice is doing her nails on it….Interesting that you ask though, is it not traditional to exchange food gifts in the US?

      Reply
      1. Virginia

        Oh yes, lots of food gifts, but I don’t think we have hampers per se, more ‘baskets’! None as country wide traditional, either.

  3. madmils

    I send hampers a lot, not F&M but Harrods, Waitrose/John Lewis.
    They’re a great gift for the person who has everything – for all occasions be it birthday or Christmas because you can be specific to the person/occasion/wallet.

    Reply
    1. ladysarahinlondon Post author

      Such wonderful things to receive… I envy your friends. Love rummaging in the straw to find all the hidden surprises. This year we are not sending any though, we are donating to the save the elephant charity…..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

